If you want to work in security in Oklahoma, you need to train in order to get a license.
Have a look at the article below where you can find info about the entire process.
Article Table of Contents
Security Guard Job Description and Requirements
Security guards are hired to patrol a property during the day or night time and ensure its safety.
If you are wondering which are the job duties, read below:
- Working together with law enforcement to report any suspicious incidents
- Ensure that the laws are respected on your employer’s property
- Keep an eye on TV cameras and alarms
- Patrol a designated area
- Write reports about what you found during your checkups
- Interview witnesses in the case of criminal activity
A security guard should also have some skills, which include:
- Solid communication skills
- Ability to decide fast
- Empathy skills with the customers
- Know how to use a gun if needed
- Knowledge of public safety
- Know the laws and regulations in Oklahoma
- Work well alone but also in a team
Required Training for Security Guards in Oklahoma
In Oklahoma, you have to get licensed whether you carry an arm or not.
The licenses are offered by the Oklahoma Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training.
If you don’t already have a license in another state, you will have to enroll in a training course.
The training covers theory and practice, and subjects include:
- Legal Issues
- The security guard in Oklahoma
- Patrol procedures
- Emergency response
- Taking notes and writing reports
Candidates who want to carry a gun should take additional training.
Applying for a Security Guard Certification in Oklahoma
There are some requirements for earning a license in this state, which are:
- Be 18 years of age
- Pass a drug test, which is required by most employers
- A background check which may include your driving experience
- A high-school diploma or equivalent
- EMT certification
- Training diploma signed by your supervisor
- Registration fee of $91 for unarmed guards and $141 for armed guards
You will also have to provide fingerprints cards and get a background check.
If you lived in another state before Oklahoma over the last half-year, you will need to have your records checked in that location.
If you are a resident of Oklahoma but moved, you will have to show records for the past 3 months.
You can apply for 4 different types of qualifications:
- Mandate training
- Comparable training
If you are still training, you can get a conditional license that needs to be sponsored by an employer.
If you have an arrest record, you will have to offer more details about your situation.
This is also the case for candidates who have a mental illness.
All the documents you submit should be legalized beforehand.
The license needs to be renewed once in 3 years.
For that, you need to take 8 hours of extra education.
If you are unarmed but want to become armed when your license expires, you can do for a $50 fee.
Becoming an Armed Guard in Oklahoma
This position requires you to be at least 21 years old.
You will also have to take an extra course of 32 hours covering:
- Legal limitations of security guard power and firearm usage/ applicable statutes
- Handgun safety
- Handgun maintenance
- Handgun fundamentals
- Night firing
You will also have to take a gun test and have a psychological evaluation done.
The instructor who supervises you should be accredited by the board.
Getting Insurance as a Security Guard
If your insurance is not covered by your employer, you need to have your own.
For an unarmed guard, you need a bond of $5000.
For an armed guard, a bond of $10000 is needed.
If you run your own business, you need a bond of $100,000.
You will also have to submit letters of good character.
Salaries for Security Guards in Oklahoma
The more experience you have in the security sector, the higher salary you will receive.
The entry-level positions earn a minimum salary, which grows after some years of experience.Annual Salary Range: Annual Salary by Location:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
Your chances for a good salary are also higher if you run your own company or reside in a big city.
You can also become a security provider, in which case you need to be 21 years old.
If you are hired for a special event from another state, you will need a permit issued by CLEET Private Security.
If you need additional career resources, you can reach out to Oklahoma Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training.