If you’re here, it means you’re interested in becoming a security guard in Minnesota, so read on!
In this state, security guards are overseen by the State of Minnesota Board of Private Detective and Protective Agent Services.
Protective agent services refer to a variety of companies or businesses, including those that employ guards, security personnel, and/ or armored car personnel.
Article Table of Contents
Security Guard Job Description and Requirements
As a security agent, you’ll need to complete tasks such as:
- Keeping an eye on the monitors from the security cameras
- Patrolling the property at set times
- Writing reports with what happened during your shift and rounds
- Ensuring the laws and regulations are followed on your employer’s property
- Collaborating with the police when necessary
The Board doesn’t require the security agents to have a license.
They will, however, have to meet the requirements set at the state level.
These are higher for those who need to be armed for their position.
The requirements include:
- Passing a background check
- Being at least 18 years old
- Receiving at least 12 hours of pre-assignment training, in the first 21 days of employment
- Have 5 unrelated references from people you have known for at least 5 years
- $10,000 surety bonds
- Having insurance or proving you have the financial ability to respond to liability
- General liability,
- Personal injury,
- Completed operations
All felonies and certain offenses will disqualify you from becoming a security agent.
The state statute mentions all the offenses that will ban you from entering this field.
The Board will provide all the forms you need to fill out.
Your training needs to cover these topics:
- Security Overview
- Assessment and emergency response
- State statutes and administrative rules
As an agent, you’ll receive an identification card that you need to carry.
You’ll also have to continue your training periodically.
Becoming an Armed Security Agent
To become an armed security guard you’ll need to first meet all the requirements from above.
Additionally, you’ll also have to receive training for the firearm.
This course must cover:
- Firearms training
- Training with weapons other than firearms
- Alternatives to force
- Standards for weapons and equipment
- First aid
- Legal limitations on the use of force
The Board keeps a list of approved program providers, both for the initial training and for the continuing education for these guards to access.
Sole Proprietors and Qualified Representatives Requirements
A sole proprietor, partnership, or corporation can obtain a license for a security business.
A manager and supervisor need to become a qualified representative for the business if it’s not a sole proprietor.
The manager should be a resident of Minnesota if the business is a branch from an out-of-state company.
Sole proprietors or qualified representatives need to meet these requirements:
- 6,000 hours of protective/ security employment experience
- Undergo the training
- Undergo a background check
- Have the reference letters mentioned earlier
- Have insurance as described above
The experience can be accumulated in security personnel supervision, security systems, and audits.
This includes working in a protective, security, or investigative role with a:
- Sheriff’s department
- City police office
- Investigative branch of the United States government
The insurance for a business will depend on the number of employees the company has.
How to Apply
The Board has detailed instructions on how the application process goes., and you need to download them from there.
In most other states, those who want to become security guards can simply download the application form from the website of their licensing institution.
In Minnesota, you have to request this form from the Board.
The request must mention what your role will be:
- A sole proprietor,
- A partnership,
- A corporation
You’ll also have to mention if the business will also offer protective or investigative services or not.
Make sure to also pay the application fee of $25.
The application will have multiple signatures unless it’s for a sole proprietor business.
Each person signing will also have to provide:
- A recent photo
- An employment history
- A residence history
- A criminal history form
The license fee depends on the type of business, as follows:
- For an individual – $800;
- For a partnership – $1,600
- For a corporation – $1800
Expect a partial refund if your application gets denied.
Just like with many other occupations, your salary as a security agent will vary based on a number of things.
These will include your experience, the city you work in, as well as the agency you work for.Annual Salary Range: Annual Salary by Location:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
You’ll have to become familiar with the:
- Licensing information from the Board’s website
- Statutes from the Board’s website
- Administrative rules found in Chapter 7506 of state code