Much of the State of Wyoming doesn’t require massage therapists to hold a license in order to profess.
Those operating in Laramie County, however, have a long history of needing certification.
The professionals from the area with no regulations set in place, can obtain 3 types of credentials that start with education, then becoming members of an organization and then obtaining board certification.
Article Table of Contents
There are 2 ways of becoming a professional in this field:
At a national level, the minimum education lasts for 500 hours, though some state requires at least 600 hours and a few require 1,000 hours.
Wyoming has several approved or accredited massage therapy training programs that last 500 hours, with 200 hours being hands-on practice.
The accreditation comes from the U.S. Department of Education.
|Institute of Business & Medical Careers||3425 Dell Range Blvd. Cheyenne, WY 82009|
|Sheridan College||3059 Coffeen Ave. Sheridan, WY 82801|
Professional Memberships and Certifications
Being a member of a professional association usually confers some legitimacy to practice.
There are 2 organizations, AMTA and ABMP, that have educational standards their members must meet.
Both of these bodies require their members to complete 500 hours of education.
Members of ABMP also have the possibility of passing the MBLEx instead, which is the exam recognized nationally.
ABMP requires its members to continue their education every 2 years for 16 hours.
Being part of an organization usually means being provided with liability insurance.
Individuals can choose to get the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork, a diploma considered better than the license.
For this certification, professionals need to complete a program lasting 750 hours, but up to 250 hours can be completed after the mandatory initial training program.
The schools need an NCBTMB code for a candidate to be eligible.
Those who didn’t attend a school with this code can submit their portfolio for review.
Individuals interested in this certification need to uphold NCBTMB practice standards, code of ethics, pass a background check and not agree with human trafficking.
They can’t obtain the certification before accumulating 250 hours of experience.
Professionals also need to earn the CPR certification, available through the American Heart Association, American Red Cross, or the American Safety and Health Institute.
The process of obtaining the Board certification costs $250, but additional fees are added to those who need their portfolios reviewed.
All massage therapists in Wyoming are obligated to stay updated on changes to the state laws and regulations.
The salary depends on many other factors besides certifications.Annual Salary Range:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
Read the full guide: How to Become a Massage Therapist