The Department of Health in Rhode Island, through the Board of Massage Therapy, has jurisdiction over massage therapists.
They have to be licensed in order to operate, and for this, they need to be over the age of 18 and pass an exam after they completed an approved program for this field.
Article Table of Contents
Educational programs that are approved by COMTA (Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation) or other programs with similar standards are accepted for issuing the license.
The program must last for at least 500 hours and must have a theoretical part and hands-on training.
The content requirements are:
- 100 hours: anatomy and physiology
- 300 hours: Massage therapy theory and practice
- 100 hours: electives, such as ethics, professionalism, office procedures, business practices, and law
The future professionals must also train in CPR and first aid
The coursework through correspondence is not accepted as equivalent.
|Community College of Rhode Island||1762 Louisquisset Pike Lincoln, RI 02865|
|Community College of Rhode Island||One Hilton St. Providence, RI 02905|
|Community College of Rhode Island||80 Washington St. Providence, RI 02903|
|Community College of Rhode Island Main Massage Therapy Campus||One John H. Chafee Blvd. Newport, RI 02840|
|Community College of Rhode Island||400 East Ave. Warwick, RI 02886|
|Community College of Rhode Island||10 Sandy Hill Rd. Westerly, RI 02891|
|Ridley-Lowell Business & Technical Institute||186 Providence Street West Warwick, RI 02893|
|S.A.M.A Sacred Stone Academy of Massage and Ayurveda||850 Aquidneck Ave., A-8 Middletown, RI 02842|
The examination process changed and the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards only accepts the MBLEx, or Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination, for the license.
This exam is adapted for taking on the computer, and candidates have to first apply for it.
The exam costs $195, and the reply is received within a week.
The accepted candidates have up to 90 days to set the date for the exam, through Pearson Vue.
Candidates have to mention on the application, the licensing agency to which they want the results to be sent to.
Those who want additional reports, they need to pay an extra $20 per report.
Applying for the License
Application forms can be downloaded from the website of the Department of Health, and found under “other healthcare specialties.”
Additional documents will also be needed:
- The results of a background check done through a state bureau of investigation or police department.
- The results will be sent directly to the licensing agency.
- Reference letters regarding the moral character
- The training school needs to send transcripts as well.
- The proof of CPR and first aid training.
- Proving the legal status in the US through a notarized copy of the birth certificate, with affidavits
- One 2×2 picture
- Details regarding any criminal past, if applicable
- Paying the application fee of $65, non-refundable
All the documents must be sent to the Board, and the new licenses can be verified online.
Out-of-State and International Massage Therapists
If the candidates obtained a license outside of Rhode Island, they need to provide verification for all the locations where they obtained certification.
Obtaining a license based on endorsement is possible if the other state has similar standards.
Those who obtained their certification in another country will need to prove their credentials and education, and they might also have to pass an exam.
Internationally educated MBLEx candidates have to obtain the approval of the state.
The Rhode Island Department of Health can offer more details where needed.
Unlike in most states, Rhode Island requires its massage therapists to renew their licenses every year.
The city in which you’ll find employment and your experience will influence your salary.Annual Salary Range:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
Read the full guide: How to Become a Massage Therapist