To become a massage therapist in Florida, you must pursue a certification program and pass some exams.
If you choose to be an apprentice, you can get an apprentice license first.
For this, you need to be 18 years old and have your high school diploma/GED.
Article Table of Contents
Licensed Massage Therapist Criteria
If you enroll in a program, you must finish 500 hours of classes before applying for a license.
The topics should cover:
- Anatomy and physiology: 150 hours
- Massage Theory and history: 100 hours
- Allied modalities: 76 hours
- Clinical practicum: 125 hours
- Hydrotherapy: 15 hours
- Business: 15 hours
- Professional ethics: 4 hours
- Florida laws and rules: 10 hours
- Medical errors: 2 hours
- HIV/ AIDS: 3 hours
You can only attend 6 hours of class a day and 30 hours per week.
|Academy of Career Training||3501 W Vine #111 Kissimmee, FL 34741|
|Academy of Cosmetology||2088 N Courtenay Pkwy. Merritt Island, FL 32953|
|Academy of Cosmetology||1975 Palm Bay Rd. Palm Bay, FL 32905|
|Acupuncture & Massage College||10506 North Kendall Dr. Miami, FL 33176|
|Alington School of Massage||1239 Rogero Rd. Jacksonville, FL 32211|
|Alpha School of Massage||4642 San Juan Ave. Jacksonville, FL 32210|
|Aveda Institute||2020 West Pensacola St. Tallahassee, FL 32304|
|Barbara Brennan School of Healing||500 NE Spanish River Blvd. #208 Boca Raton, FL 33431|
|Beauty Schools of America||1060 W 49 St. Hialeah, FL 33012|
|Beauty Schools of America||600 NE 22 Terrace Homestead, FL 33030|
|Beauty Schools of America||1176 SW 67 Ave. Miami, FL 33144|
|Beauty Schools of America||1813 NE 163 St. North Miami Beach, FL 33162|
|Benes International School of Beauty||7027 US Highway 19 New Port Richey, FL 34652|
|Boca Beauty Academy||7820 Glades Rd. Boca Raton, FL 33434|
|Bonita Springs School of Massage and Cosmetology||10915 Bonita Beach Road SE #2111 Bonita Springs, FL 34135|
|Broward College||111 East Las Olas Blvd. Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301|
|Educating Hands School of Massage||120 SW 8th St. Miami, FL 33130|
|Erwin Technical Center||2010 E Hillsborough Ave. Tampa, FL 33610|
|Florida College of Natural Health||616 67th Street Circle East Bradenton, FL 34208|
|Florida College of Natural Health||2600 Lake Lucien Dr. #140 Maitland, FL 32751|
|Florida College of Natural Health||7925 NW 12th St. #201 Miami, FL 33126|
|Florida College of Natural Health||2001 W Sample Rd. #100 Pompano Beach, FL 33064|
|Florida Education Institute||5818 SW 8th Street Miami, FL 33144|
|Florida School of Massage||6421 SW 13th St. Gainsville, FL 32608|
|Gulf Coast Community College||5230 West Hwy 98 Panama City, FL 32401|
|Institute for Structural Integration||7700 Center Bay Dr. North Bay Village, FL 33141|
|International Institute for Health Care Professionals||600 South Dixie Hwy #211 Boca Raton, FL 33432|
|Keiser University||9400 SW Discovery Way Port St. Lucie, Florida 34986|
|Medical Institute of Palm Beach||5821 Lake Worth Rd # B Greenacres, FL 33463|
|Miami Dade College||300 NE 2nd Ave. Miami, FL 33132|
|Palm Beach Academy||1220A 10th Street Lake Park, FL 33403|
|Palm Beach Community College||4200 Congress Ave. Lake Worth, FL 33461|
|Pensacola School of Massage Therapy & Health Careers||2409 Creighton, RD Pensacola, FL 32504|
|Sarasota School of Massage Therapy||5899 Whitfield Ave. #300 Sarasota, FL 34243|
|Source Institute of Massage Therapy & Bodywork||30 Beal Parkway SW Ft. Walton Beach, FL 32548|
|Sunstate Academy||2525 Drew St. Clearwater, FL 33765|
|Sunstate Academy||2040 Colonial Blvd. Fort Myers, FL 33907|
If you want to be an apprentice, you should be sponsored by someone who has a 3-year experience in the field.
The facility where you train must-have books that cover topics like anatomy, physiology, massage theory, message-related laws and rules, and hydrotherapy.
An apprentice practices for a year or 2, during which the following subjects are covered:
- Anatomy: 300 hours
- Physiology: 300 hours
- Massage Theory and history: 20 hours
- Hydrotherapy theory and practice: 50 hours
- Statutes and rules regulating massage practice: 25 hours
- Introduction to allied modalities: 50 hours
- Hygiene: 5 hours
- Board-approved HIV/ AIDS training: 3 hours
- Practical massage: 700 hours
In the first quarter, you must cover:
- Anatomy: 100 hours
- Physiology: 100 hours
- Statutes and rules: 15 hours
In order to receive your first license, you must pass the the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Exam (MBLEx).
In Florida, you can take this exam in either English or Spanish.
The test is multiple-choice, can be taken 6 days a week and is provided by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB).
You will need to submit fingerprints for a Livescan that will prove you have a clean criminal record.
If a Livescan service is not available in your region, you can reach out to Florida Livescan providers to have your hard card switched to an electronic format.
You will also need to submit an Originating Agency Identification (ORI) number in your application form.
Therapists from other states
If you are certified in other states, you will need to take classes as follows:
- Prevention of medical errors: 2 hours
- HIV/AIDS: 3 hours
- Florida laws and rules: 10 hours
Therapists from other countries
If you have a license in another country, your paperwork needs to be translated into English.
Furthermore, your school must be approved by an equivalent entity within its region.
Your references will also need to be approved by a credential evaluation agency.
How to apply
If you have a criminal record, you need to bring 3 recent reference letters before taking the exam.
If you have certain health issues, you are required to bring documents from your doctor.
If you have a health-related certification in another state, the facility you obtained it from needs to submit proof to the Florida Board.
If you studied in schools that aren’t in Florida, you need to have your school send transcripts to the licensing entity in this state.
When you apply, a $155 fee is required.
The amount minus $50 will be returned to you if your license application is rejected.
You can contact the Florida Board of Massage Therapy by email or the Florida State Massage Therapy Association if you need extra information.
Below you can also see the median income you can expect per year from this new career, depending on where you live in Florida.Annual Salary Range:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
|Port Saint Lucie||$48,263|
Read the full guide: How to Become a Massage Therapist