The Board of Chiropractic and Massage Therapy Examiners manages massage therapist licenses in Maryland.
In this state, you can either be a Licensed Massage Therapist (LMT) or Registered Massage Practitioner (RMP).
As Massage Practitioners, you can only work in fields not related to healthcare.
Article Table of Contents
For both licenses, you need to undergo training, and as a Licensed Massage Therapist you must also take college courses.
You should also enroll in an accredited school and complete 600 hours of training.
|Anne Arundel Community College||101 College Parkway Arnold, MD 21012|
|Baltimore School of Reflexology||3505 Pinkney Rd. Baltimore, MD 21215|
|Baltimore School of Massage||517 Progress Dr. #A-L Linthicum, MD 21090|
|Baltimore School of Reflexology||26008 Shenandoah Dr. Mechanicsville, MD 20659|
|Baltimore School of Reflexology||797 Irongate Circle Sykesville, MD 21784|
|College of Southern Maryland||8730 Mitchell Rd. La Plata, MD 20646|
|Fortis||700 York Rd. Towson, MD 21204|
|Holistic Massage Training Institute||1 East University Parkway #110 Baltimore, MD 21218|
|The Community College of Baltimore County||7200 Sollers Point Rd. Dundalk, MD 21222|
As an LMT, you need to complete 60 hours of a college education.
If you already completed 24 hours of 60 in a healthcare course, you don’t need any additional education.
If you didn’t, you need to take an extra class in massage therapy to meet the criteria.
To get licensed, you have to take a national massage therapy exam and a local exam.
The most common national exam is the MBLEx, for which you only need to submit an application and read the candidate bulletin.
The local exam covers topics as the laws and rules in Maryland, and candidates must pass it with a $75 score.
If you didn’t pass the exam, you can take it again next month for a fee.
If you didn’t inform the facility of your absence, you need to wait 2 months before retaking the test.
Before taking the exam, you need to perform a Livescan for which you will use the authorization codes in the application form.
The same is offered for candidates who come from other states, except if they choose to get a Livescan locally.
The background check costs $32.75, plus the fee required by the fingerprinting facility.
How to Apply
Before sending in your application, you have to legalize a statement that says you have read the massage therapy laws.
Your school is required to send course transcripts directly to the Board.
You will also need to send score reports and CPR training proof, along with 2 passport style pictures.
The entire process costs $250 and will be submitted to the Board of Chiropractic and Massage Therapy Examiners in Baltimore.
If you come from another country, you need to get your transcripts translated into English and approved by an approved organization.
You can find out more about the certification process on the Board of Chiropractic and Massage Therapy Examiners site.
If you want to learn more about rules and regulations, check out The Maryland Chapter of the American Massage Therapy Association.
Licenses for massage therapists in Maryland must be renewed every other year.
Depending on where you profess, your salary expectations will be different, as seen from the table below.Annual Salary Range:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
Read the full guide: How to Become a Massage Therapist