Licensed Massage Therapist (LMT) in Utah – Schools, Salary, and License Info

Find a Program Near You

Licensed Massage Therapist (LMT) in Utah

The Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL) is managing the massage therapist licensing process in Utah.

Candidates have to be 8 years old and have a high-school diploma in order to apply.

Training Requirements

In Utah, you can get licensed by either attending a program or becoming an apprentice,

If you choose to complete a program, you need 600 hours of training covering:

Find a Program Near You
  • 125 hours in anatomy, physiology, and kinesiology
  • 40 hours in pathology
  • 15 hours in universal precautions, sanitation and CPR
  • 285 hours in massage therapy theory and technique
  • 35 hours in Professional standards, business, and ethics
  • 100 hours in clinical practice under a supervisor
School Name Address
Eagle Gate College 915 North 400 West Layton, UT 84041
Healing Mountain Massage School 363 S. 500 E. Suite 210 Salt Lake City. UT. 84102
Massage Therapy Academy - Apprenticeship Only 368 East St. George Blvd. St. George, UT 84770
Myotherapy College of Utah 336 Bugatti Dr. Salt Lake City, UT 84115
Provo College 1450 West 820 North Provo, UT 84601
Renaissance School of Therapeutic Massage 566 West 1350 South Bountiful, UT 84010
Utah College of Massage Therapy 25 South 300 East Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Utah College of Massage Therapy 135 South State St. #12 Lindon, UT 84042

If you choose an apprenticeship, you need 1000 hours that cover:

  • 120 hours of technique
  • 50 hours of theory
  • 40 hours in professional standards, business and ethics
  • 125 hours in anatomy, physiology, and kinesiology
  • 40 hours in pathology
  • 15 hours in universal precautions, sanitation and CPR

Your supervisor will need to send in the curriculum, and the application should be submitted to the state licensing agency.

Animal massage therapists

In order to practice with animals, you need 60 hours in:

  • quadruped anatomy
  • quadruped massage theory
  • supervised quadruped massage

Testing requirements

Both those who finished programs and apprentices must take the MBLEx exam, for which you can find info on the FSMTB website.

The exams are computer based.

You will also need to pass the Utah Massage Therapy Law and Rule Examination.

The exam is open book, for which the licensing agency will provide info.

Background checking

Before getting licensed, you need to get a background check by the FBI and the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification.

You can get your fingerprints electronically scanned in Salt Lake City, at the DOPL.

If you can’t do that, you need to get 2 fingerprint cards from the Bureau of Criminal Identification or a police station.

If you have a criminal record, this must be mentioned and detailed in your documents.

How to apply

Your school will need to send in official transcripts.

For apprenticeships, the supervisor needs to complete a form and mention if they were satisfied by the candidate’s performance.

The paperwork costs $100 and is to be sent to the Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing in Salt Lake City.

Candidates from other states

You need to have completed a 500-hour program or have a 2,000-hour job experience to practice in Utah.

If you completed an apprenticeship in another state, you need 4,000 hours to be licensed in Utah.

If you have the NCBTMB certification, you can practice in Utah even if you studied in another country.

Other info

For extra info, reach out to the Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing or the American Massage Therapy Association-Utah.

In Utah, massage therapists are required to renew their certification every 2 years.

The are several factors deciding how much you’ll earn in this profession, but the average salary can be seen below.

Annual Salary Range:
$43K
$48K
$55K
10%
50%
90%
Annual Salary by Location:
Location Avg. Annual Salary
Salt Lake City $48,744
Provo $46,959
West Jordan $48,566
Orem $46,959
Sandy $48,611
Ogden $47,518
St. George $52,396
Layton $47,340
South Jordan $48,522
Lehi $46,737

USA Massage Therapy by State


Leave a Comment

×
Find a Program Near You