Virginia Board of Nursing issues licenses to massage therapists in this state, though some areas might have extra local laws.
Those over the age of 18 need to complete related education and then pass an exam.
Article Table of Contents
The education needed by future massage therapists in Virginia lasts at least 500 hours.
The program must have the approval of the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia or from a similar agency from a different state.
The schools can be checked against the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV), as the Board doesn’t keep a list of schools.
|Advanced Fuller School of Massage||195 Sout Rosemont Rd. #105 Virginia Beach, VA 23452|
|Avi Career Training||10130 Colvin Run Rd. #A&B Great Falls, VA 22066|
|Cayce/Reilly School of Massotherapy||215 67th St. Virginia Beach, VA 23451|
|Dabney's Lancaster Community College||1000 Dabney Dr. Clifton Forge, VA 24422|
|Fortis||6300 Center Dr. #100 Norfolk, VA 23502|
|Fortis||2000 Westmoreland St. Ste. A Richmond, VA 23230|
|Le Arai Beauty & Barber Academy||8630 J Lee Hwy Fairfax, VA 22031|
|Medical Careers Institute||1001 Omni Blvd. #200 Newport News, VA 23606|
|Miller-Motte Technical College||1011 Creekside Lane Lynchburg, VA 24502|
|Miller-Motte Technical College||4444 Electric Road Roanoke, VA 24018|
|Northern Virginia School of Therapeutic Massage||200 Little Falls St. #303 Falls Church, VA 22046|
|NOVA- Northern Virginia Community College||4001 Wakefield Chapel Rd. Annandale, VA 22003|
|Nova Training Center||14701 Lee Hwy Suite 306 Centreville, VA 20121|
|Patrick Henry Community College||645 Patriot Ave. Martinsville, VA 24115|
|Virginia School of Massage||153 Zan Rd. Charlottesville, VA 22901|
Exam for Initial Licensure
Candidates have to take the multiple choice MBLEx exam, for which the candidate bulletin must be read first.
You are also required to pay a $195 fee, and the ATT you will receive is valid for 3 months.
The exam is computer based, and some candidates can apply for a temporary license while waiting to take it.
How to Apply
You have to send in official school transcripts in order to qualify for the exam.
If your school closed, you can get a transcript copy from a licensing agency.
You also need to get a background check and provide paperwork if you have a criminal record.
However, a criminal record is not always base on rejection.
You will have to pay a total of $140 to apply and get the license.
Temporary licenses are valid for 3 months, but forbids the practitioner from practicing under the title of ”licensed massage therapist”.
Your license will be revoked if you fail the exam.
Candidates from other states or countries
If you hold a license in another state, you may be allowed to practice in Virginia.
The Board will verify your credentials and make a decision based on that.
For more info, check out the 18VAC90-50-50 section of the state code.
Candidates from abroad can also practice if they met the requirements settled by the laws in Virginia.
You will have to apply for reinstatement if you missed one license renewal.
For this, you need to prove your skills and pay a $150 fee.
You can download the application form on the site of the Board.
You may need to keep updated with the continuing education requirements in Virginia, along with the Disciplinary Provisions.
For more info, contact the Virginia Board of Nursing, who can also provide written materials.
As the rules and regulations change from time to time, make sure to keep updates with them.
You can also check out the Virginia Chapter of the American Massage Therapy Association for information related to the industry.
The average salary varies quite a bit from city to city.Annual Salary Range: Annual Salary by Location:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|