Massage therapists in Vermont currently don’t need a license to practice, though there is a desire for stronger regulation for this profession.
Additionally, those who want to work in this field, can pursue education st national standards and obtain certifications from third parties.
Article Table of Contents
The educational standard for the massage therapy industry is a program that lasts for at least 500 hours.
The institutions offering these programs must be approved by the licensing agency, the state licensing and/ or regional or national accreditation agency.
One such agency is the Commission on Massage Therapy Education (COMTA).
Some programs might be approved or have institutional membership that indicates the curriculum is appropriate to the profession.
Those who seek education should look for schools with codes assigned by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB).
The schools assigned with the NCBTMB code offer educational programs of at least 500 hours and the following curriculum:
- 125 hours of body systems coursework: kinesiology, physiology, and anatomy.
- 200 hours of massage and bodywork theory, application, and assessment.
- The NCBTMB requires that this instruction is in class and hands-on.
- 40 hours of pathology
- 4 hours of business
- 6 hours of ethics.
It’s best to enroll in programs that last for more than 500 hours to be able to operate in other states as well.
This is because some states have higher requirements regarding education, like neighboring New Hampshire.
|Crystalis Institute||132 South Main St. #2 Hardwick, VT 05843|
|Green Mountain Massage School||1670 Cleveland Corners Rd. Hyde Park, VT 05655|
|Pyramid Holistic Wellness Center||120 Merchants Row Rutland, VT 05701|
|Touchstone Healing Arts||187 St. Paul St. Burlington, VT 05401|
|Universal Institute of Healing Arts||90 Three Mile Bridge Rd. Middlesex, VT 05602|
|Wellness Massage Center||164 North Main St. #2 St. Albans, VT 05478|
Those who graduated from a school with a code assigned can seek further certification from the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork.
This certification is higher than the initial license and the requirements are also higher.
Those interested in this diploma need to complete 750 hours of education.
These hours don’t have to be completed as part of the initial training, as the missing hours can be completed through an approved continuing education program.
Having their portfolio inspected is a testing option to obtain this certificate.
It’s more common to pass the Board Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (BCETMB) instead.
The exam covers the following topics:
- Technique and application
- Evaluation, treatment planning, and documentation
- Law and ethics
These professionals need to subscribe to a code of ethics and to agree to oppose human trafficking.
They can’t get the certification without a minimum of 6 months and 250 hours of work experience.
Passing a background check is also mandatory.
The initial process for board certification costs $250 and the fee has to be paid before the exam.
A more basic credential is also available through the American Bodywork and Massage Professionals.
For this option, those interested need to annually continue their education.
By doing so, they can wear the title “ABMP Certified Massage Therapist”.
There are several organizations in which massage therapists can enroll.
To be a member, an individual need to pay a membership fee that is based on their experience.
The organizations provide professional liability insurance to their members.
The American Massage Therapy Association requires members to subscribe to a code of ethics and to complete 500 hours of education.
Those who enroll in a 500-hour program can be a student member and later a graduate member.
American Bodywork and Massage Professionals also require members at the professional level to complete 500 hours of education.
Those getting passing scores on the MBLEx can also be members.
Those who already have a license as nurses or physical therapists are an exception.
The MBLEx is offered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards and is the examination most recognized for licensing purposes in most U.S. states.
This test costs $195 and can only be taken after completing the required education
Professionals need to stay updated on the legislative updates.
The website of the American Massage Therapy Association is the best place to get these updates, as well as the above-mentioned organizations.
The salary depends on experience and certifications.Annual Salary Range: Annual Salary by Location:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|