If you plan on practicing massage therapy in West Virginia, you need to comply with some state requirements.
Some of these include completing a training course, passing an exam and have a high school diploma.
Article Table of Contents
You need to enroll in a 500-hour course covering the topics below:
- 200 hours in massage therapy theory and practice, which will be equally split between theory and practice
- 100 hours in Anatomy and physiology
- 20 hours in client-therapist relationships
- 15 hours in bodywork
- 150 hours in optional topics like kinesiology, spa massage, or others
100 hours of education can be fieldwork, and while CPR training is required, it is not credited.
Your chosen program must be accredited by the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission Board.
|Art & Science Institute of Cosmetology & Massage Therapy||45 Cory Road Fairmont, WV 26554|
|Clarksburg Beauty Academy||120 S 3rd Street Clarksburg, WV 26301|
|James Rumsey Technical Institute||3274 Hedgesville Rd. Martinsburg, WV 25403|
|Laurel Business Institute (LBI)||40 Commerce Drive #201 Morgantown, WV 26501|
|Morgantown Beauty College||276 Walnut Street Morgantown, WV 26505|
|Mountain State School of Massage||601 50th Street Charleston, WV 25304|
|Mountwest Community & Technical College Division of Allied Health & Life Sciences||One Mountwest Way Huntington, WV 25701|
|Triad Tech, INC||431 5th Ave. Huntington, WV 25701|
The MBLEx is the exam that is available in West Virginia.
The exam costs $195, is computer-based and the results are available right away.
The NCBTMB also provides the BCETMB exam, however, it is for higher-level therapists and a small part of a board certification process.
How to Apply
You first need to download the application form.
Your vocational school must send in official course transcripts that detail your education.
You will also have your background checked, and answer questions related to child support status and professional history.
The application should be legalized, and include a $350 fee covering the process.
All applications should be submitted to the Massage Therapy Licensure Board in Charleston.
The license is valid for 2 years, and you will receive an answer within 14 business days.
Application by Endorsement
If you want to get licensed in West Virginia but come from another region, you should meet the education standards in this state.
You have to submit a licensed copy and proof you passed the exam.
If you held your license for over 2 years, you need to prove you took the extra education hours required by the Board.
You can contact the West Virginia Massage Therapy Licensure Board for more info regarding licensing.
You should also check out The West Virginia Chapter of the American Massage Therapy Association for updates related to the industry.Annual Salary Range:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
Read the full guide: How to Become a Massage Therapist