Licensed Massage Therapist (LMT) in Delaware – Schools, Salary, and License Info

SEARCH PROGRAMS

sponsored schools

Licensed Massage Therapist (LMT) in Delaware

In Delaware, massage therapists can either get the Certified Massage Technician license or Licensed Massage Therapist license.

The second certification requires more training than the first, and you will also need to take an exam before getting it.

License for Massage Therapist Technician

You first must complete a 300-hour course in one school, which must cover the following:

  • Anatomy and physiology: 60 hours
  • Technique and theory: 140 hours
  • Law, ethics, and contraindications: 25 hours
  • Elective coursework: 75 hours
School NameAddress
Academy of Massage and Bodywork1218 Pulaski Hwy, #324Bear, DE 19701
Dawn Career Institute3700 Lancaster Pike #105Wilmington, DE 19805
Delaware Learning Institute of Cosmetology33248 Royal Blvd, #ADagsboro, DE 19939
Harris School of Business97 Commerce Way #105Dover, DE 199014
Harris School of Business1413 Foulk Rd. #100 Foulkstone Plaza Wilmington, DE 19803
Massage and Reflexology of Delaware1601 Milltown Rd. #15Wilmington, DE 19808

You can get a temporary license after finishing 200 education hours, from which 50 must cover anatomy and physiology, 110 should cover theory and technique, while 25 should be on law, ethics, and contraindications.

Massage Therapist Certification

You must finish 500 hours of education in:

  • Anatomy and physiology: 100 hours
  • Technique and theory: 300 hours
  • Law, ethics, and contraindications: 25 hours
  • Massage theory electives: 75 hours

You are not required to complete the 500 hours in the same facility.

SEARCH PROGRAMS

sponsored schools

After finishing the course, you will have to take the Massage & Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx).

The test is provided through the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards and requires a $195 fee.

After sending your form, you will receive an answer with an Authorization to Test (ATT) in 5 business days.

You can then schedule your exam within 3 months, and the results are usually available right away.

Background checking

If you want to get a CPR license to work as a massage therapist, check out The American Red Cross, the American Heart Association, and the National Safety Council as the main providers.

Online programs aren’t accepted, so you need to take a physical course.

You will also need to submit fingerprints for a background check, which can be done in Sussex, New Castle County, and Kent County.

If you are a Delaware resident, bring your Criminal History Record Check form to the fingerprinting agency.

If you are from another state, you can go to a local police station and have your record check form sent to the Delaware State Police/State Bureau of Identification (SBI).

You will also need to include a fingerprint card form and a $69 fee.

In order to take the test, you must either have a clean record or 5 years since the felony was committed.

How to apply

You can find the application forms on the Board’s site, while the score reports need to be submitted from the FSMTB or NCBTMB.

Transcripts must be submitted by the facility that released them.

You will also need to legalize and copy your CPR certification.

The licenses require a $126 fee, while the temporary massage therapist license costs $55.

If you want to upgrade your Certified Massage Technician, another $55 fee is required.

Massage Therapists From Other States

If you have been on job or licensed for 2 years, you will not need to apply again in Delaware.

However, you will still need to present your CPR certification and have taken a national exam.

Other info

You can contact the Division of Professional Regulation on the phone, and receive info regarding massage therapy from The Delaware Chapter of the American Massage Therapist Association.

You must renew your license every 2 years, and the renewal fee is $123.

If you’re curious about your income prospects, the table below has the median salary recorded in the largest cities.

Annual Salary Range:
$48K
$53K
$61K
10%
50%
90%
Annual Salary by Location:
LocationAvg. Annual Salary
Wilmington$54,583
Dover$54,500
Newark$54,542
Middletown$54,416
Bear$54,521
Hockessin$54,583
Smyrna$54,439
Milford$54,634
Claymont$54,583
Seaford$53,508

The more experience you have, the more you’ll earn.

USA Massage Therapy by State


Popular Programs

Leave a Comment

Find a Program