Minnesota is one of the few states where there’s no state-wide laws imposing massage therapists to hold a license.
Various jurisdictions, however, do have rules and standards set in place.
Some of these areas are St. Paul, Hopkins, and Burnsville.
Additionally, the Alliance for Licensing Massage Therapists is a Minnesota-based organization requires these professionals to:
- follow the Unlicensed Complementary and Alternative Health Care Practices Act
- provide patients with a bill of rights
The Minnesota Chapter of the American Massage Therapy Association is another organization that works towards the introduction of voluntary statewide registration.
Those who live in areas where the license is not mandatory yet, should:
- stay informed on any changes to the law
- seek education and certification on par with the national standards
- find another way of getting licensed
Massage Therapy Education
Massage therapists who want to get an education in the field must complete a program that is at least 500 hours long, for the entry-level license.
Those interested in getting more certifications would have to complete longer programs, though in many cases enrolling just for the hour difference is enough.
To qualify, a program must cover a specific curriculum as well and it’s best if it has the approval of an organization recognized at a national level, like the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork.
These programs or the schools offering them usually have the code NCBTMB assigned to them.
The COMTA (the Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation agency) is another code a program can have, and it is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.
Another code could be that of the American Massage Therapy Association (or AMTA).
|CenterPoint Massage & Shiatsu Therapy School||1313 5th St. SE #336 Minneapolis, MN 55414|
|Minnesota West Community & Technical College||1314 North Hiawatha Pipestone, MN 56164|
|Minnesota State Community College||405 Colfax Ave. SW Wadena, MN 56482|
|Northwestern Health Sciences University||2501 West 84th St. Bloomington, MN 55431|
|Northland Community & Technical College||1101 Hwy One East Thief River Falls, MN 56701|
|Northland Community & Technical College||2022 Central Ave. NE East Grand Forks, MN 56721|
|Riverland Community College||2200 Riverland Dr. Albert Lea, MN 56007|
|Riverland Community College||1900 Eighth Ave. NW Austin, MN 55912|
|Riverland Community College||965 Alexander Dr. SW Owatonna, MN 55060|
|The Meta Institute||4600 W. 77th St. # 230 Edina, MN 55435|
All professionals across the country can seek national or board certifications, but the standard is the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork.
NCBTMB used to offer national certification, but now offers the highest possible certification, for which professionals must:
- Complete 750 hours of education
- Pass an exam
- Have CPR certification
- Oppose human trafficking
- Uphold the professional ethic code
Massage therapists from non-regulated areas can obtain credentials from Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals.
For this certification, a candidate must:
- Complete 500 hours of education
- Pass the MBLEx (the national licensing exam)
Members will be required to continue their education to be able t renew their licenses.
Massage therapists can get a diploma in medical massage from the American Medical Massage Association.
The education required for this certification is more stringent than what most schools offer.
Specialized diplomas can be sought at a later time as long as the basic education is completed.
The more certifications a professional has, the more they’ll earn.
The average salary in Minnesota also depends on the city in which one operates.Annual Salary Range: Annual Salary by Location:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
Massage therapists must ensure they stay updated on the changes to the laws that govern their industry.