In Connecticut, massage therapy licenses are managed by the Department of Public Health (DPH).
In order to get a license, you need to pass an exam and fulfill the education criteria.
Article Table of Contents
Education Criteria for Massage Therapists
You will need to finish at least 500 hours of education in a classroom.
To be eligible for the exam, you must attend a school that received s code from the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB) and that is also accredited.
|Connecticut Center for Massage Therapy (COMTA)||1154 Poquonnock Rd. Groton, CT 06340|
|Connecticut Center for Massage Therapy (COMTA)||75 Kitts Lane Newington, CT 06111|
|Connecticut Center for Massage Therapy (COMTA)||102 Wolcott Rd. Wolcott, CT 06716|
|Connecticut Center for Massage Therapy (COMTA)||25 Sylvan Rd South Westport, CT 06880|
|Ridley-Lowell Business & Technical Institute||44 Shelter Rock Rd. Wolcott, CT 06810|
Since 2015, future massage therapists must take the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx).
This is the only one accepted for certification, unlike before, when the exam was offered by the the NCBTMB.
All the exam info is available on the the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards site.
A $195 fee is also required prior to the examination.
You will need to take the exam within 3 months of submitting the application.
In Connecticut, the testing centers are located in Norwalk, the Greater Hartford and New Haven regions.
You can also get a temporary permit before your exam that will allow you to practice within that time frame.
During this time, you will be working under supervision and your permit will be revoked if you fail the test.
How to apply
The application form is available on the the DPH website, and contains an educational form to be filled by your school.
If you have a professional history, you will need to provide documents and proof that sustain your claims.
Generally, you may not be eligible for certification if you have committed criminal acts.
The application form must be legalized, and include a recent photo as well as as a $375 fee.
You will submit these documents to:
Connecticut Department of Public Health
Massage Therapist Licensure
410 Capitol Ave., MS #12 APP
P.O. Box 340308
Hartford, CT 06134
If you are looking for a temporary permit, this must also include your supervisor’s signature.
You must also submit your license application, which is different from the application form for the exam.
Typically, you will receive an answer within a month.
In order to work as a massage therapist in Connecticut, you need to take a Board-approved test.
If you meet the active practice criteria, you do not need to bring further proof of education.
But, if you haven’t worked as a massage therapist in the past year, you will need to comply with the 500 hours of education requirement.
While the school must be accredited, it is not mentioned whether it must also have an NCBTMB code or not.
The median salary for this profession varies in this state, even in its largest cities, as you can see in the table below.
The more experience and credentials you have, the higher your salary will be.Annual Salary Range:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
To learn more about the licensing process, check out the Department of Public Health website.
You should also consider visiting the American Massage Therapy Association website, as it provides updates on laws and legislation.
Read the full guide: How to Become a Massage Therapist