In Arkansas, you must meet some specific education criteria to work as a massage therapist.
You will also need to have your health and background tested.
You can get different types of licenses in this state, and apply for an upgrade after gathering enough experience.
The licenses are managed by the State Board of Health and the Arkansas Department of Health.
Article Table of Contents
What Are The Requirements?
First of all, you will need a GED or high school diploma.
You will also need to attend an accredited 500-hour program in the field.
|Arkansas College of Massage Therapy||1000 South Caraway Road # 112B Jonesboro, AR 72402|
|Arkansas Institute of Massage||2120 South Waldron Rd. Suite 306C Fort Smith, AR 72903|
|Arkansas School of Massage||6108 South 31st Street Fort Smith, AR 72908|
|AR Therapeutic Massage Institute and Spa||853 Third Street Hot springs, AR 71902|
|Body Wellness Massage Academy||1212 Military Rd Suite D Benton, AR 72015|
|Body Wellness Massage Academy||2417 Ferncliff Little Rock, AR 72223|
|Healing Therapy and Education LLC||690 Tate Street Camden, AR 71701|
|Life's Work School of Massage||210 South Thompson Street # 4-A Springdale, AR 72764|
|Massage Works School of Massage||201 West Jefferson St. #A PO Box 1033 Mountain View, AR 72560|
|Northwest Arkansas School of Massage||3-A Dogwood Ridge Eureka Spings, AR 72632|
|Northeast Arkansas School of Massage||2702 South Culberhouse Suite M Jonesboro, AR 72401|
|Radiance School of Massage||3810 Central Ave. Suite E Hot Springs, AR 71913|
|River Valley School of Massage||2003 East Parkway Drive Russellville, AR 72802|
|Touching America School of Massage||600 Pine Forest Drive Suite 120 Maumelle, AR 72113|
|Touch for Health||502 East 24th St. Texarkana, AR 71854|
If you studied in another state, you will have to prove compliance with the standards in Arkansas as follows:
- 150 class hours covering anatomy, physiology, pathology, and contraindications
- 225 hours of class covering massage therapy techniques
- 25 hours of class covering: hygiene, hydrotherapy, heliotherapy, electrotherapy, and law.
To become a massage therapist, you need to pass a content test and a jurisprudence test.
The National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage (NCETM) provides the NCBTMB Board Certification Examination for the written exam since 2015.
Since the application form is older, make sure to reach out to 800-296-0664 or ‘email@example.com’ for licensing.
If you are looking to get the MBLEx license, you can typically get scheduled to take the test within 5 business days of submitting an application.
You can find the form on the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards’ website.
Before applying, you will need to read the candidate bulletin and pay a $195 fee.
You can also call or email the Federation for extra info on this particular license.
The law exam is available at Board Office in Little Rock on select days.
Before taking the law test, you need to pass the massage therapy exam first.
If you need to retake the law exam, you need to pay an extra $25.
Health and Background
To be able to apply for a license, you must prove you don’t suffer from tuberculosis and have a clean background according to the Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police.
How to apply for a license
Forms are available on the board’s site and include instructions.
You will also need to provide your high school diploma or GED, massage therapy diploma, ID and social security card, as well as tuberculosis results.
If you studied in another state, you will need to provide a detailed transcript of your education.
Even if you worked as a massage therapist in another state, you will still need to bring proof of license.
The fees include a $25 law exam fee, an $80 certification fee, and a $75 application fee.
Becoming a Master Massage Therapist
You can become a master therapist after having 2 years of experience as a massage therapist.
You will also need an extra 250 hours of on the job experience and 125 hours of class.
If you want to get this license when renewing your previous, you have to prove 18 hours of education for your massage therapist license and 125 for your master license.
Below you can have a look at the median salary for massage therapists in Arkansas.Annual Salary Range: Annual Salary by Location:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
|North Little Rock||$47,589|
Regional Salary in Arkansas
|Region||Employed||Avg. Annual Salary||Avg. Hourly Pay||Top 10% Annual Salary||Bottom 10% Annual Salary|
|Little Rock-North Little Rock-Conway, AR||100||$38,680||$18.6||$45,780||$26,130|
* Employment conditions in your area may vary.
Remember that what you’ll earn will depend on your skills and experience.
The more you practice, the more you’ll earn.