The State Board of Massage Therapy offers licenses to future massage therapists in Mississippi after they complete an approved program and pass 2 exams.
Other requirements include having a clean criminal background, certification for CPR and AIDS/ HIV awareness training.
Article Table of Contents
Information Related to Education
Unlike in other states, in Mississippi, future massage therapists must complete at least 700 hours of education, as follows:
- 600 hours of class attendance
- 100 hours of supervised practice in a clinic.
The class hours must cover:
- 100 hours – study of the human body: anatomy, physiology, neurology, myology/ kinesiology, and pathology every 20 hours at minimum.
- The pathology coursework is to include medical terminology.
- 100 hours – other related content
- 100 hours – Massage therapy theory
- 100 hours – supervised practice (client evaluation, draping, range-of-motion; massage techniques
- minimum of 20 hours – massage therapy history, indications, contraindications and benefits.
- includes 10 hours of legality and ethics; including Mississippi massage therapy law.
- 200 hours: allied modalities
- Eastern, Western, and European methods: 7 hours
- Hydrotherapy and infrared heat: 25 hours
- Healthcare referral: 20 hours
- Charting and documentation: 10 hours
- Cardiopulmonary resuscitation and first aid: 8 hours
The remaining hours can cover extra coursework either from the above topics or from other massage therapy and wellness topics.
The practice must cover in a 1:1 ratio, instruction, evaluation, and hands-on sessions.
The programs must be accredited through the Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation or other similar agencies, though new programs may not be accredited immediately.
Some of the schools could accept transfer credits, under state regulations.
|Blue Cliff College||12251 Bernard Parkway Gulfport, MS 39503|
|Concord Career College||7900 Airways Blvd. #103 Southaven, MS 38671|
|Healing Touch School of Massage Therapy||4700 Hardy St. #J-1 Hattiesburg, MS 39402|
|Healing Touch School of Massage Therapy||5360 I-55 North #150 Jackson, MS 39211|
|MS Gulf Coast Community College -West Harrison County Center||21500 B Street Long Beach, MS 39560|
|Southwest Mississippi Community College||1156 College Dr. Summit, MS 39666|
|Waldrip Center for Therapeutic Massage||3018 Cliff Gookin Blvd. #3 Tupelo, MS 38801|
Future massage therapists in Mississippi must pass 2 exams:
- the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx)
- the Mississippi State Law Exam (MSLE), by scoring at least 70%
It’s possible to take the test before graduating, and the information is readily available on the FSMTB website.
To apply, candidates must also pay $195 and wait for the ATT within 5 business days, after which they can schedule the exams at computerized testing centers.
Candidates must pay attention to their past certifications, as some may not be accepted, such as the National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage (NCETM).
Future massage therapists need permission from the Board to take this exam, though the schools can obtain permission for their students.
If the candidate already graduated, they can apply directly but must pay the $100 fee.
The Board has a schedule with when the MSLE can be taken, along with the deadlines to apply for it, as this is a monthly examination.
All candidates have to obtain certifications for first aid and CPR.
These certifications are issued by the American Heart Association, American Red Cross, or American Safety and Health Institute.
The Mississippi Department of Public Safety and the FBI carry out background checks for future massage therapists in this state.
This check is done when the state law exam takes place and it costs $36.
Candidates can find application forms on the Board’s website.
The application needs to accompanied by 2 signed and dated passport-quality photos.
Candidates also need transcripts from the school they attended, but the school must directly send the transcripts.
The official transcript must document AIDS/ HIV awareness training, while the CPR and first aid certification will have a certification card.
Applications will also include notarized affidavits, the $50 application fee and the $200 fee for the license.
License by Reciprocity
Massage therapists coming from out of state can obtain a Mississippi license if they can prove:
- academic instruction of at least 500 hours
- 3 years of work experience, regardless of where the candidate comes from
- requisite qualifications
These candidates can choose to pay $30 for a provisional permit that allows them to start working faster.
Licensing for military-trained Applicants and Military Spouses
Obtaining the license through reciprocity is different for military-trained and military spouses applicants.
These candidates need to prove an experience of at least 2 years, from the past 5 years.
While they don’t need to have studied for a determined amount of time, they will have to pass an exam in Mississippi.
State code specifies that a military spouse can use any volunteer work for credit.
All massage therapists must stay updated with the changes to the regulations.
The Board’s website has the most recent information professionals must be aware of.
The Mississippi Chapter of the American Massage Therapy Association is another place where professionals can learn about these changes and not only.
The salary will depend on location as well as experience or certifications the professional holds.Annual Salary Range: Annual Salary by Location:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
Regional Salary in Mississippi
|Region||Employed||Avg. Annual Salary||Avg. Hourly Pay||Top 10% Annual Salary||Bottom 10% Annual Salary|
|Gulfport-Biloxi-Pascagoula, MS||70||- NA -||- NA -||- NA -||- NA -|
* Employment conditions in your area may vary.