In North Carolina, those who want to work as massage therapists need to obtain a license based on their education, background, and examination.
Article Table of Contents
Next, there’s more information related to each requirement.
A future massage therapist has to complete educational programs of at least 500 hours.
The programs need to be approved by the Board unless it’s offered by an educational institution
that already received approval, like a community college or a university.
The website of the Board has a list of approved schools.
North Carolina has the following curriculum standards:
- 200 hours -the fundamentals of massage therapy theory and practice (acupressure, deep tissue massage, and Swedish massage)
- At least 100 hours – application (client assessment, indications, and contraindications, standard procedures for hygiene and infection control, draping, body mechanics)
- 100 hours -anatomy, physiology, pathology
- 20 hours – practice-related psychological concepts (mind-body connection, the client-therapist relationship, professional communication skills)
- 15 hours – business management skills
- 15 hours – professional ethics and North Carolina laws
- 150 hours – related coursework (supervised clinical practice, in-depth study of previous subjects)
- A maximum of 50 hours can cover techniques that are exempt from license requirements
These professionals must learn CPR and first aid as well, but these skills are not credited.
Those interested in this profession may attend non-approved programs that are substantially equivalent to the approved ones to receive their licenses.
Candidates with licenses from other states will have their files analyzed on a case by case basis.
Some candidates will receive a license with conditions when the programs met most of the requirements set by the Board.
The licensee would have to continue their education to ensure they meet the missing requirements.
|American & European Massage Clinic||4322 Bland Road Raleigh, NC 27609|
|Ashville School of Massage and Yoga||77 Walnut St. Ashville, NC 28801|
|Blue Ridge Healing Arts - CE's||9 Union St. North #300 Concord, NC 28027|
|Center for Massage & Natural Health's||530 Upper Flat Creek Rd. Ashville, NC 28787|
|ECPI University||4101 Doie Cope Rd. Raleigh, NC 27613|
|Miller-Motte College||2205 Walnut St. Cary, NC 27518|
|Miller-Motte College||5000 Market St. Wilmington, NC 28405|
|North Carolina School of Advanced Bodywork||1327 Charlotte Hwy. Fairview, NC 28730|
|The Healing Arts and Massage School||2113 Cameron St. Bryan Bldg. #233A,B Raleigh, NC 27605|
|The Medical Arts School||6541 Meridien Drive #113 Raleigh, NC 27616|
There are 2 exams that candidates must pass:
- Content examination, covered in the Massage Board Licensing Examination (MBLEx).
- It has multiple choices, delivered via a computer, and the registration is done online for a fee of $195
- Jurisprudence, called JLE
- It is completed online, and a score of 100% is needed to pass.
- This test can be taken as many times as needed to pass, but the questions will always differ.
Candidates coming from out of state might have other exams accepted by the Board, such as the NCBTMB.
Those seeking to obtain a license as a massage therapist need to submit their fingerprints to the North Carolina Department of Justice for a criminal background check.
The fingerprints are made at any law enforcement agency and the application package has more information related to this process.
The Application Process
Candidates for the license find applications and a few other needed forms on the Board’s website, along with instructions for the process.
Extra needed documents:
- A copy of the massage therapy certificate
- Sealed official transcript from the school
- Additional materials if the program was in a different state or not approved.
- High school diploma or GED
- Proof of minimum age
- 4 statements of moral character:
- 3 from healthcare practitioners, but not cosmeticians
- 1 from a massage therapy instructor
Candidates should try and send complete application packages.
It usually takes about 60 days for applications to be reviewed.
License by Endorsement
There are two possible endorsements:
- License by Endorsement A
- For candidates with a license in a jurisdiction with similar requirements
- For those who didn’t pass the MBLEx or the NCBTMB
- License by Endorsement B
- For candidates from states there the profession is not licensed
- For those who didn’t complete 500 hours of education and have other credentials
Those seeking licensure through this method must also prove their English language proficiency.
Some candidates might be called for an interview.
The Board can offer more information related to the process of obtaining a license in North Carolina.
The license has to be renewed every other year.
In North Carolina, the average salary is this field is almost as high as the national median income.Annual Salary Range: Annual Salary by Location:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
Regional Salary in North Carolina
|Region||Employed||Avg. Annual Salary||Avg. Hourly Pay||Top 10% Annual Salary||Bottom 10% Annual Salary|
|Durham-Chapel Hill, NC||80||$65,210||$31.35||$102,430||$37,030|
|Greensboro-High Point, NC||100||$65,180||$31.34||$92,410||$39,060|
* Employment conditions in your area may vary.