Massage therapists in Nevada need to undergo training and an exam before being allowed to practice.
You will also need to be 18 years old or older.
The licenses in this state are managed by the State Board of Massage Therapy.
Article Table of Contents
You have to finish a 550-hour training program approved by the Nevada Commission on Postsecondary Education or provided by a trade school.
There is a list of programs that weren’t approved by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork on the Nevada Board.
Those who apply out of state have to offer more details if they finished a program that is not approved by the Commission on Postsecondary Education.
If you bring transcripts from California, these will need to be verified by the Board.
The education required for the massage therapist license cannot be taken online.
|Nevada Career Institute||3231 N. Decatur Blvd. #119 Las Vegas, NV 89130|
|Nevada School of Massage Therapy||2381 E. Windmill Lane, #14 Las Vegas, NV 89123|
|The Bodhi Tree Center for Healing Arts||3107 N. Deer Run Rd. #6 Carson City, NV 89701|
|Truckee Meadows Community College||7000 Dandini Blvd. Reno, NV 89512|
The MBLEX is the exam you will need to pass to get your license.
The NESL, NCETM, and NCETMB used to also be offered but not anymore since 2015.
The exams must be prepared by either the Nevada Board or agencies approved by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies.
The application form is available on the Board site and requires a $480 fee as well as an ID copy and a social card copy.
If you apply from another state, you will need to submit credentials.
Your diploma and school transcripts need to be sent directly by your school.
You will need to get a background check with a Livescan in Las Vegas and Reno.
You could also get a temporary license.
Candidates from other states
If you apply from another state, you have to pay a $480 fee and send your papers for verification.
The time it takes for your application to be processed is the same as for a candidate from Nevada.
Once you get your license, you’ll have to update it every year, for a fee.
To learn more about laws and regulations, check out The Nevada State Board of Massage Therapists at firstname.lastname@example.org.
If you need additional resources, check out the Nevada Chapter of the American Massage Therapy Association website.
The salary depends on accumulated experience.Annual Salary Range: Annual Salary by Location:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
|North Las Vegas||$53,072|