Massage therapists in Pennsylvania must get appropriate training, pass an exam and a background check.
Let’s learn more details about the industry requirements in this state.
Article Table of Contents
A 600-hour program is required for licensing in Pennsylvania.
The hour must be split as per the following:
- 175 hours in Anatomy, physiology, kinesiology, and pathology
- 250 hours in massage-therapy assessment
- 25 hours in ethics, business, and law
- 150 hours in optional subjects
- 3 hours in recognizing child abuse through a facility accepted by the Department of Human Services
You must also get CPR training at the American Red Cross, the American Heart Association or a similar approved entity.
|Academy of Massage Therapy & Bodywork||141 East High Street Pottstown, PA 19464|
|Baltimore School of Massage||170 Red Rock Rd. York, PA 17406|
|Central Pennsylvania School of Massage||1315 South Allen St. #104 State College, PA 16801|
|Cortiva Institute||211 South Gulph Rd. King of Prussia, PA 19406|
|Community College of Allegheny County - Boyce Campus Office-N220||595 Beatty Road Monroeville, PA 15146|
|DCI Career Institute||366 Beaver Valley Mall Monaca, PA 15061|
|Great Lakes Institute of Technology||5100 Peach St. Erie, PA 16509|
|East-West School of Massage Therapy||504 Park Rd. North Wyomissing, PA 19610|
|European Medical School of Massage, LLC||2913 Windmill Road #12 Sinking Spring, PA 19608|
|Institute for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork||136 Commons Court Chaddsford, PA 19137|
|International School of Shiatsu||10 South Clinton St. Doylestown, PA 18901|
|Laural Business Institute||11 East Penn St. Uniontown, PA 15401|
|Lehigh Valley College- Closed||2809 East Saucon Valley Rd. Center Valley, PA 18034|
|Massage Academy of the Poconos||BK Plaza Route 209 #1 Brodheadsville, PA 18322|
|Massage Academy of the Poconos||753 Phillips St. Stroudsburg, PA 18360|
|North Hills Beauty Academy||813 West View Park Dr. Pittsburgh, PA 15229|
|Pennsylvania Institute of Massage Therapy||93 South West End Blvd. #103 Quakertown, PA 18951|
|Pittsburgh Technical School||1111 McKee Rd. Oakdale, PA 15071|
|Pittsburgh School of Massage Therapy||3600 Laketon Rd. Pittsburgh, PA 15235|
|Pittsburgh School of Pain Management||1312 East Carson St. Pittsburgh, PA 15203|
|South Hills Beauty Academy||3269 West Libery Ave. Pittsburgh, PA 15216|
|Synergy Healing Arts Center||13593 Monterey Lane Blue Ridge Summit, PA 17214|
|The National Academy of Massage Therapy & Healing Sciences||1744 Sumneytown Pike Kulpsville, PA 19443|
|The Valley Spiritual Center & School of Healing Arts||RR#2 Box 901 Port Trevorton, PA 17864|
To get licensed, you must take the MBLEx.
You also need to become a member of the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards, pay a $195 fee and have your training reviewed.
You can expect a reply within a week, and the ATT you will receive is valid for 3 months.
The results are typically available within a day.
If you just graduated, you can apply for a permit while you take the exam.
Certification by Reciprocity
If you attended a program in another state, you can get a license in Pennsylvania if the school meets the same criteria.
If the program you completed was 500 hours, you can continue your training to meet the criteria.
You will need to get your license verified, and have taken an adequate licensing exam.
How to Apply
You will need to ask for transcripts from your school to be submitted directly to the Board.
You can get your papers from the records depository if your school closed down.
You also need to show your CPR certification which must be valid for at least 6 months.
A copy of your ID and high school diploma are also required.
If you have a criminal record, or your license was denied in the past, you need to explain why in your application.
You will need to get a background check from every state you lived in over the past 5 years.
You also must present your records within 6 months of applying for a license.
In this state, you can get your papers from the Pennsylvania Access to the Criminal History.
There is a $65 fee for the application and a $65 fee for a temporary permit.
Getting your records verified generally takes between 10 to 15 business days.
Visit the Pennsylvania State Board of Massage Therapy for additional info regarding licensing, and the Pennsylvania Chapter of the American Massage Therapy Association for updates in the field.
The license has to be renewed every 2 years, for a fee.
There are many factors influencing your future salary, and the location is one of them.Annual Salary Range:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
Read the full guide: How to Become a Massage Therapist