There are no license requirements for HVAC technicians in Maine.
But, make sure you keep up to date with the requirements as every county can have its own regulations.
Article Table of Contents
Maine is made of 23 cities and 16 different counties, so you will have to check if you need any extra permits based on your location.
You will have to get some training in the field, and the following schools could be a good starting point.
|Eastern Maine Community College||354 Hogan Rd Bangor, Maine 04401|
|Northeast Technical Institute||51 US RT 1, Suite K Scarborough, Maine 04074|
|Northern Maine Community College||33 Edgemont Dr Presque Isle, Maine 04769|
|Southern Maine Community College||2 Fort Road South Portland, Maine 04106|
|Washington County Community College||One College Drive Calais, Maine 04619|
An HVAC technician makes on average about $44,968 a year in Maine, while an experience one earns $50,955 annually.
As a reference, across the United States, the average salary for an HVAC technician is $46,648 per year, with the highest salaries reaching $52,858 per year.Annual Salary Range: Annual Salary by Location:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
Regional Salary in Maine
|Region||Employed||Avg. Annual Salary||Avg. Hourly Pay||Top 10% Annual Salary||Bottom 10% Annual Salary|
|Portland-South Portland, ME||690||$57,140||$27.47||$76,830||$44,990|
* Employment conditions in your area may vary.
You will need a special license to run your own business, so check out the official state of Maine website for info.
EPA Section 608 Permit
If you will work with any type of refrigerant, it is required by law that you get a Section 608 certification.
Since Maine doesn’t require a specific HVAC license, all you need to do is train in order to start your career.