Hawaii has a hot climate, so air conditioning systems are quite popular here.
If you want to become a technician or contractor for these systems, read on for the qualification you need to get hired in the State of Hawaii.
Article Table of Contents
HVAC Job Opportunities in Hawaii
The industry is said to increase its jobs by 13.6% in the following years.
Right now, an HVAC technician in this state makes about $42,000 to $44,000, which is similar to the national average of $46K a year.
The average salary in this industry is $48,943 per year, while a top HAVC worker can earn up to $55,459 a year in Hawaii, so it comes as no surprise the industry is popular.
The average salary in the United States in this field is $46,648 per year, while a top HAVC worker can earn up to $52,858 per year.Annual Salary by Location:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
Regional Salary in Hawaii
|Region||Employed||Avg. Annual Salary||Avg. Hourly Pay||Top 10% Annual Salary||Bottom 10% Annual Salary|
|Urban Honolulu, HI||990||$72,660||$34.94||$105,050||$47,920|
* Employment conditions in your area may vary.
HVAC License Requirements
You don’t need a license to work as an HVAC technician in this state, but you will need one in order to become a contractor.
Getting a C-40 Refrigeration Contractor license is useful because it will allow you to do any type of HVAC work.
You will also be able to install and maintain temperature insulation units and any other refrigerants.
To receive a license and Section 608 Certification, you need:
- Worker’s comp
- A $100,00 per person/$300,000 per occurrence body injury surety bond
- A $50,000 per occurrence property damage surety bond
- Proof of residence
- An experience of 4 years in the field as a supervisor
- Take business, law, and trade tests
- Submit a $50 application fee
- A $545 fee for a license becoming active between October 1st of an even-numbered year and September 30th of an odd-numbered year; OR
- A $415 fee for a license becoming active between October 1st of the odd-numbered year and September 30th of the even-numbered year
However, if you are not the business owner, but a Responsible Managing Employee, then the fee is:
- $335 between October 1st of the even-numbered year and September 30th of the odd-numbered year
- $225 if licensed between October 1st of the odd-numbered year and September 30th of an even-numbered.
EPA Certification Requirements
As per EPA Section 608 of the Clean Air Act, you must have a C-40 Refrigeration Contractors License if you will work with dangerous substances.
There are 3 such certifications:
- EPA Section 608 HVAC Type I: can work on appliances with 5 lbs of refrigerant
- EPA Section 608 HVAC Type II: can work on very high-pressure appliances, as well as non-automotive systems and split systems.
- EPA Section 608 HVAC Type III: can work on low-pressure appliances
Hawaii HVAC testing
You will need to pass the business and laws tests, as well as the C-40 Refrigeration exam.
Contractor License Test
The requirements for this exam are:
- Pay a $65 fee
- Preparation, as the test is not open-book
- The first part of the exam includes topics like:
- contract management,
- risk management,
- project management,
- financial management,
- labor and tax laws,
- public works laws,
- lien laws,
- business organization.
- The second part of the exam covers:
- trade specifics,
- construction codes,
- building codes,
- trade materials,
- tools and equipment
Trade Specific C-40 Refrigeration Test
The exam lasts for 3 hours, includes 80 questions and preparation is needed as the test is not open-book.
The minimum passing score is 75%, and the topics are:
- commercial refrigeration,
- sizing and estimating,
- test and inspection,
- walk-in construction,
Attending a training school or enrolling in an apprenticeship program can help with the preparation for the exam, and you can check the schools below.
|Honolulu Community College||874 Dillingham Blvd Honolulu, Hawaii 96817|
Section 608 Certification Test
You can get prepared by studying the 12-page manual.
The Type 1 test is open book, but you need a score of 84% for every section.
If you plan on getting additional certifications, you will have to answer the base questions again while supervised.
To make things easier, you might want to take a proctored test from the start.
This certification costs $24.95, and you will have to pay an extra $5.95 if you do not pass the first time.
Exam topics include:
- ozone depletion,
- Clean Air Act,
- 608 regulations,
- substitute refrigerants,
- recovery techniques,
- dehydration evacuation,
Opting for a specialty trade will provide you with more job opportunities and better expertise.
Once you have decided on which, you can get the required training and start your HVAC career.