Maybe you are considering a career in dental hygiene in Ohio.
In that case, read the article below for tips and info on starting your new career.
Article Table of Contents
Education Requirements for Licensing
In Ohio, dental hygiene licenses are handled by The Ohio State Dental Board.
Before you can receive one, you must attend at least a 2-year program approved by the American Dental Association (ADA) Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA).
Other degree options include:
- Associate of Applied Science
- Bachelor of Science
- Bachelor of Arts
- Master of Science
During your course, you will study subjects like:
- Human Anatomy and Physiology
- Introduction to Microbiology
- Introduction to Dental Hygiene Theory
- Dental Radiology
- Head and Neck Anatomy
- Dental Anatomy Embryology
- Medical Emergencies
- Oral Pathology
- Dental Materials
- Pain and Control Methodology
- Special Needs Patients
- Legal and Ethical Issues
- Dental Hygiene Clinics
- Testing and Board Reviews
|Columbus State Community College||550 E Spring St, Columbus, OH 43215|
|Cuyahoga Community College District||700 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, Ohio 44115-2878|
|Owens Community College||30335 Oregon Rd, Perrysburg, Ohio 43551|
|Sinclair Community College||444 W. Third St., Dayton, Ohio 45402-1460|
|University of Cincinnati-Blue Ash College||9555 Plainfield Rd, Blue Ash, Ohio 45236-1096|
Local Anesthesia Permit
To get a local anesthesia permit, you must also attend an anesthesia course additionally to a dental hygiene program.
Passing the Licensing Exams
You will first need to pass the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE) exam.
To take it, you must send an application form and register for a DENTPIN Number.
The practical exam is offered through the Western Region Examining Board (WREB).
In order to take it, you must be enrolled in a Board-approved program and pass the NBDHE exam.
This test is open book and available after you pay a fee and complete a form.
In order to take this exam, you must pass the previous ones first.
The exam will cover state laws and regulations in Ohio.
Send in an Application
To apply for a dental hygiene license, you must send:
- Application Form
- Current Photograph (2’’x2’’, signed, and dated)
- Application fee: $150
- National Board Scores
- Transcript with Degree Posted
- Certification of education (form enclosed in the application form)
- Licensure Verification (form enclosed in the application form)
- WREB results
- Proof of local anesthesia exam
- Authorization for release of personal information
- Current CPR certification
- Jurisprudence exam
- License fee
You will also have to send a legalized copy of the original certificate of the practical exam.
If the clinical exam was a state one, the state will send your results to the Board.
If it was a regional one, you will have to submit the certificate yourself.
Extra certifications will bring increased job opportunities with higher pay.Annual Salary Range:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
Renewing Your Dental Hygiene License
You will need to get your dental hygiene license renewed every 24 months.
Before you can do, you need to take 24 additional hours of classes on dental hygiene.
You may be able to apply for an Extended Access Dental Hygiene certification if:
- You were hired as a dental hygienist for 2 years before applying
- Worked for at least 1000 hours in the 2 years before applying
- Complete an application
Read the full guide: How to Become a Dental Hygienist