In Louisiana, dental hygienist licenses are managed by The Louisiana State Board of Dentistry.
Read below in order to find out more info on how to start your career.
Article Table of Contents
Complete a Dental Hygiene Program
Before you can get your license, you need to enroll in a program accredited by the American Dental Association (ADA) Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA).
Many of these schools offer higher education, including associate’s and bachelor’s degrees.
Some of the topics you will study in class include:
- Head and Neck Anatomy
- Introduction to Dental Hygiene
- Dental Anatomy
- Oral Pathology
- Pain and Anxiety Control
- Community Dental Health
|Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center||433 Bolivar St, New Orleans, Louisiana 70112-2223|
|University of Louisiana||104 University Circle, Lafayette, Louisiana 70503|
|University of Louisiana||700 University Avenue, Monroe, Louisiana 71209-0000|
Pass the Required Exams
You will need to pass a National Board Dental Hygiene Examination, a Regional Exam, and the Louisiana State Jurisprudence exam.
National Board Dental Hygiene Exam
To take this exam, you should:
- Study the exam Guide
- Attain a DENTPIN number
- Apply for the test
Currently, Louisiana has 3 centers where you can take the exam.
This mandatory test has national recognition.
The regional exam must be taken no later than 3 years after the first exam and is only offered by Council of Interstate Testing Agencies, Inc. (CITA).
This last exam is comprised of 100 multiple choice questions and requires a 75% passing score.
The topic covered in the Louisiana Dental Practice Act.
Submit the Application
You can get licensed by either taking an exam or credentials if you already have a license.
Certification by Exam
In order to take the test, you need to send in:
- Certification from CODA-accredited dental hygiene school
- National Board of Dental Hygiene examination scores
- Scores from the CITA regional exam
- Pass the Jurisprudence Exam
- Current CPR certification
- Passport style photograph signed
- A legal copy of your U.S. birth certificate
- Fingerprint background check
- Application for licensure
- A $250 application fee
- A $30 well-being program fee
To get your criminal background check, you must get your fingerprints taken and send them to the Louisiana State Board.
Getting Licensed by Credentials
To apply, you must take the following steps:
- Contact PBIS for Application Information
- Submit $400 fee to PBIS
- Submit Louisiana State Board Application
- Submit $500 fee to the Board
- Submit proof of previously held licensure
- Submit National Practitioner Data Bank Report and HIPDB self query
All applications are reviewed within 30 days.
Getting a higher degree also provides more job opportunities.
You will be able to work in clinics, medical offices, and federal programs.Annual Salary Range:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
Renewing Your License
The certification should be renewed every 24 months and requires 24 extra hours of schooling.
Out of these, 12 hours should cover clinical practice, and 6 hours should be attended in person.
The licenses should be renewed on the last day of the year during even-numbered years.
Read the full guide: How to Become a Dental Hygienist