In Montana, dental hygienist jobs are quite lucrative.
If you want to work in the field, read on for more info on the steps required to get licensed.
In Montana, the certifications are managed by The Montana Board of Dentistry.
Article Table of Contents
Finish a Dental Hygienists Program
To get licensed, you first need to attend at least 2 years of education in a school approved by The American Dental Association (ADA) Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA).
Attending the program will provide an Associate of Applied Science in Dental Hygiene.
You can also pursue your education further for better job opportunities.
|Great Falls College Montana State University||2100 16th Ave S, Great Falls, Montana 59405|
Take the Licensing Exams
In Montana, you need to pass 3 exams:
- The National Board Exam
- The Regional Exam
- The Jurisprudence exam
The National Board Exam
To take this exam, you need to provide a DENTPIN number and complete an application.
The National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE) scores should be sent to the Board before being eligible for the other exams.
This exam tests your ability to perform your physical job duties.
You must take this test not more than 5 years before you apply for a license.
Taking this exam costs $85, and you must get a 75% passing score.
The test is open book and covers the laws and rules of dental hygienists in Montana.
To apply, you need to have practical experience of 1000 hours over the past 24 months.
You also need to send into the Montana Board of Dentistry:
- Application form
- $100 Application Fee
- $85 Jurisprudence Exam Fee
- Proof of Graduation from CODA-accredited dental hygiene school (diploma and transcripts)
- National Board Scores
- Clinical Exam Scores
- CPR Certification
- National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) self-query
- Two reference letters
You can also apply for a Limited Access and/or Local Anesthesia permit for better credentials.
To do so, you must submit:
- Proof of 2,400 hours of practice over the last 36 months
- Current Liability Insurance
- 12 extra education hours
- $50 permit fee
The Local Anesthesia permit requires:
- WREB Local Anesthetic Exam
- Proof of local anesthetic administration in the previous 5 years
- Send in a $20 fee
The extra permits give the possibility of Montana’s dental hygienists to earn a higher salary.Annual Salary Range: Annual Salary by Location:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
Renewing Your Dental Hygienist License
You will have to renew your license every 3 years and attend 36 extra education hours before that.
Some of the topics covered in class include:
- Oral Surgery
- Infection Control
- Management of Dental and Medical Emergencies
- Practice Management
- Oral Pathology
- Preventative Dentistry
- Clinical Patient Management
- Oral Biology
- Dental Materials
After getting your dental hygienist license, you can stay up to date with the industry changes by joining The Montana Dental Hygienists’ Association.