In Nevada, dental hygiene jobs are meant to see to a 15.5% increase up to 2022.
If you think this career is the right one for you, check out more info on how to get licensed below.
In this state, The Nevada State Board of Dental Examiners handles the licensing process.
Article Table of Contents
Complete Your Education
In Nevada. you have to attend a dental hygiene program approved by The Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA).
To be able to apply for a license, you need an associate’s degree or a bachelor’s degree
These require enrolling in a 2-year program at the minimum.
The subjects covered during classes include:
- Public Health and Special Populations
- Teaching Concepts for the Oral Health Professional
- Dental Public Health Administration
- Oral Epidemiology and Biostatistics
- Advanced Education Concepts
- Future Directions in Dental Hygiene
- Research Methodology
- Professional Ethics
|College of Southern Nevada||6375 W. Charleston Blvd., Las Vegas, Nevada 89146-1164|
|Truckee Meadows Community College||7000 Dandini Blvd, Reno, Nevada 89512-3999|
Take the Licensing Exams
In this state, you need to pass 3 tests in order to get licensed.
These are the National Board Exam, the Regional Exam, and the Jurisprudence Exam.
The National Board Exam
You must take this test before the other 2, and provide the scores to the Board before proceeding to the next steps.
This exam is provided by the Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations.
To take it, you have to register for DENTPIN and complete an application form.
You have to get a score of at least 75% in order to pass.
This exam tests your practical knowledge in the dental hygiene field.
You must take this exam with 5 years or less before applying for certification.
The regional exams available in Nevada are:
- The American Dental Hygiene Licensing Exam (ADEX) exam
- The Commission on Dental Competency Assessments (CDCA) exam
- The Western Region Examining Board (WREB) exam
You can also choose to take a local anesthesia exam that will give you a permit.
For this, you must fill in a form and send in an application fee.
This exam is administered online and addresses the laws and regulations for dental hygienists in Nevada.
Send in Your Application
The next step is submitting your application to the Board.
This step requires:
- Application form
- $600 fee for the WREB or ADEX tests
- Passport style photo
- Official transcripts from your program
- Official National Board Scores
- National Practitioners Data Bank (NPDB) Self Query Report
- Jurisprudence Exam
- Background Check
The individual’s experience and degree will influence how much they earn.Annual Salary Range: Annual Salary by Location:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
|North Las Vegas||$77,634|
The dental hygienist licenses are renewed once at 24 months in Nevada.
In order to do this, you should take 30 extra education hours.
You also need to send in the following paperwork:
- Renewal Application Form
- $300 Renewal Fee
- Proof of CPR Certification
- Sign Affidavit
- Indicate Total Continuing Education Credits
You will also be asked to take 4 hours of extra credits in terrorism.