The Delaware Department of Labor sees the demand for dental hygienists on the rise.
People who want to work in this medical field need a license from the State of Delaware Board of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene.
The process involves a few steps, as seen below.
Article Table of Contents
Attending a Training Program for Dental Hygienists
The license can only be obtained after completing a training course for dental hygiene that received accreditation from CODA.
The program must last for at least 2 years and award an Associates’s degree.
Both the Associate’s and the Bachelor’s degrees are accepted for entry-level positions.
Those who want to enter other fields like teaching need to obtain a Masters’s degree.
Delaware doesn’t have many training schools, however, those interested can complete their training in one of the neighboring states or online.
|Delaware Technical Community College||333 N. Shipley Street, Wilmington, Delaware 19801|
It’s common for these schools to have some minimum requirements that people need to meet before enrolling, such as having graduated from high school and having a current CPR certification.
Passing the Required Exams
There are several exams individuals need to pass before obtaining their licenses.
National Dental Hygiene Board Exam
In most states, the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE) is the first exam to pass, though in Delaware it can be the second one.
This exam is offered through the Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations and held at the Pearson Vue testing centers.
Those who need to take this exam need to apply for it through the JCNDE.
This exam has 2 parts, 350 questions, and is recognized all over the nation.
The Delaware Practical Board Examination
In this state, the Delaware Practical Board Examination in Dental Hygiene replaces the regional practical exams required in other states.
This exam can only be taken in January and May, and candidates have deadlines by which they can apply for it.
For the January exam, the deadline is December 1, while the deadline for the May test is April 1.
Additionally, only 36 candidates are accepted on each date, and the Board has more information about these exams on its website.
Those who apply for this exam must also provide the following documents:
- The Application for Dental Hygienist License – completed, signed, and notarized
- An official transcript proving the completion of the related training program
- The processing fee -$66
- The exam fee – $100
- A copy of the CPR certificate
- The official high school transcript, or a copy of the GED certificate
The transcript needs to be sent by the school directly to the Board.
The fees have to be made payable to the State of Delaware.
The Delaware Jurisprudence Exam
The Board won’t issue licenses to those who didn’t pass the Delaware Jurisprudence Exam.
This test has only 20 questions, all of them related to the Delaware license law and Board rules and regulations.
The Board can offer more details related to this exam.
Applying for the License
All candidates can apply for the license only after passing all the exams above.
They will need to include the following papers, with the application:
- The NDHBE score report – sent directly from the JCNDE
- The Jurisprudence Examination report – signed and notarized
- Authorization for a fingerprint background check form
- A letter of reference for good moral character and reputation
Dental hygienists in Delaware earn on average, more than the national median salary for this occupation.Annual Salary Range: Annual Salary by Location:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
Regional Salary in Delaware
|Region||Employed||Avg. Annual Salary||Avg. Hourly Pay||Top 10% Annual Salary||Bottom 10% Annual Salary|
* Employment conditions in your area may vary.
On May 31 of even-numbered years, all dental hygienist licenses expire.
All individuals must complete a minimum of 24 hours of continuing education to renew their licenses.
In some cases, the first license renewal happens earlier than years.
In these cases only, the continuing education requirements will be prorated.
There are a few courses that are approved for license renewal, but the following are mandatory:
- At least 2 hours covering infection control
- Maintaining the CPR certification