In Kansas, the demand for dental hygienists is on the rise.
These professionals are overseen by the Kansas Dental Board who sets the rules, regulations, and issues licenses to qualifying candidates.
Their duties include:
- Developing treatment plans for individuals
- Performing preventative analysis and procedures
- Educating individuals and the community concerning oral health
- Assess patient’s needs
Article Table of Contents
Training as a Dental Hygienist
To be considered qualified for a dental hygienist license, the candidate has to graduate from a training program that meets the following requirements:
- Is accredited by CODA
- Awards at least an Associates’ degree
The classes in these programs will cover the study of the following topics:
- Clinical Dental Hygiene
- Head and Neck Anatomy
- Dental Radiology
- Dental Health Education
- Nitrous Oxide Analgesia
- Developmental Dentistry
- Dental Materials
- Dental Therapeutics
Higher degrees such as Bachelors and Masters are longer than the Associates’ but also open the possibility of a better career.
Clinical, hands-on training is included in all the educational programs.
|Colby Community College||1255 S Range, Colby, Kansas 67701|
|Johnson County Community College||12345 College Blvd, Overland Park, Kansas 66210-1299|
|Wichita State University||1845 N. Fairmount, Wichita, Kansas 67260-0124|
Take and Pass Exams
All future dental hygienists have to pass a series of exams before they can receive their licenses.
The National Board Dental Hygiene Exam, or NBDHE, is organized by the Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations and has national recognition.
Those who completed their training, need to do the following:
- Read and agree to the NBDHE guide
- Register for a DENTPIN
- Apply for the exam
- Schedule it
This test is organized at the Pearson Vue testing centers.
The Joint Commission has to contact the qualifying candidates with more details regarding this exam.
In Kansas, the Board will accept any of the clinical exams offered by the testing agencies mentioned below.
The exams of the state boards are also accepted.
Most of these exams cost $950 to take.
To take the exam offered by the Central Regional Dental Testing Services (CRDTS), one has to submit an online application and the exam fee.
The fee has to be paid by cashier’s check or money order with the candidate’s ID number of 10 digits in the lower, left-hand corner.
For the exam offered by the Southern Regional Testing Agency (SRTA), the candidate has to register and submit the exam fee and the fee of the specific sponsoring institution.
The exam offered by the Commission on Dental Competency Assessments (CDCA) costs $975 and the instructions for it are straightforward.
Those who want to take the local anesthesia exam will submit another $140 exam fee.
The Nitrous Oxide exam costs another $135.
The Western Region Examining Board (WREB) offers more exams and each of them has a different fee.
The candidate has to submit an application, follow the process and submit the fee for the exam they want to take.
There is a simple application form for the exam offered by the Council of Interstate Testing Agencies (CITA).
This test has a standard fee.
This exam covers the Kansas Dental Practices Act from the State’s Laws.
Candidates have to send an application, pay the fee after which they may receive further instructions on how to schedule the test.
The exam is organized at the Topeka Kansas Dental Board which needs to be contacted at least a week before the desired exam date.
This exam can be taken in a few other locations, but they also need prior exam contact and approval.
There are 2 ways of obtaining the license:
- by examination – by recent graduates or who have a license in a different state, for less than 3 years
- By credentials – by those who have a license for more than 3 years and have been working in the field in the recent 3 years
Licensure by Examination
For this option, candidates have to fill out the application and attach to it these materials:
- Original transcript from the school, showing the degree obtained, sent directly to the Board by the school’s registrar
- Recent photo
- Scores form the NBDHE and clinical exams
- Current CPR certification
- Verification of all licensures held, regardless of status
- Obtain a National Practitioner Data Bank Report
- $100 fee, and prorated licensing fee
The application form has to be signed in the presence of a notary.
The Local Anesthesia Certificate and the Nitrous Oxide Certificate must also be included by those who obtained them.
Licensure by Credentials
Those who apply by credentials need the above documents along with a $300 fee.
These candidates have to submit a different application form.
Obtaining a certificate for local anesthesia or nitrous oxide will increase the income of the professional.Annual Salary Range:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
Complete Continuing Education
Licenses expire on December 1 every two years and it can be renewed online or by mail.
Retired dental hygienists can keep their licenses active, but theirs don’t expire on that date.
For the first renewal, individuals need to complete 15 hours of Continuing Education (CE).
After that, they need to complete 30 hours of CE.
The CPR certification has to be current, and up to 4 hours can be spent on this training.
In February of every year, continued education audits start, and the individuals are chosen at random.
Only the chosen professionals need to provide proof of having completed their continued education.
Read the full guide: How to Become a Dental Hygienist