To become a dental hygienist in Nebraska, you first need to attend a program.
This will give you the opportunity to apply for a license, which will allow you to start your new career.
The dental hygienist licenses in Nebraska are managed by the Nebraska Board of Dentistry.
Article Table of Contents
Enrolling in a Training Program
Nebraska requires candidates to attend an accredited Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA) program.
The program will result in an associate’s degree or other higher education degree.
You can pursue other degrees for better credentials that will result in better job opportunities.
The subjects you will study during the program include:
- Preclinical Theory
- Medical Emergencies
- Preclinical Techniques
- Osteology of the Skull
- Special Topics in Oral Biology
- Oral Histology
- Dental Anatomy
- Oral Radiology
- Dental Materials
- Integrated General Oral Pathology
- Theoretical Periodontology
|Central Community College||3134 West Hwy 34, Grand Island, Nebraska 68802-4903|
|Creighton University||2500 California Plaza, Omaha, Nebraska 68178|
|University of Nebraska Medical Center||987815 Nebraska Medical Ctr, Omaha, Nebraska 68198-7815|
|Western Nebraska Community College||1601 East 27th Street, Scottsbluff, Nebraska 69361-1899|
Pass the Licensing Exams
In this state, you need to pass 3 exams before getting a dental hygiene certification.
These are the National Board exam, the Regional exam and the Jurisprudence exam.
The National Board Exam
This is the first required exam, and you cannot take the other 2 until you send the scores to the Board.
To apply for it, register for DENTPIN and submit an application form.
The accepted exams are:
- The Central Regional Dental Testing Service (CRDTS) Dental Hygiene Examination
- The Western Regional Examining Board (WREB) Dental Hygiene Exam.
In order to pass, you must get a 75% score.
This test covers the laws and rules for dental hygienists in Nebraska.
In this state, the exam scores must be sent along with the application form.
Applying for the License
To become eligible for licensing, you must:
- Be 19 years old
- Send in the application form
- Official School Transcript
- Official NBDHE Exam Scores
- Official Practical Exam Scores
- Jurisprudence Exam
- Required $110.00 Application Fee
- Copy of birth certificate
If you already have a license in another state, you can apply by credentials.
In order to do so, you must:
- Have an experience of 3 years as a dental hygienist
- Take 15 extra education hours
- Send in proof of holding a license in another state
You can also apply for the local anesthesia permit.
To get it, you have to attend a local anesthesia course and pay a $25 fee.
Having the local anesthesia permit in Nebraska means a higher salary than other dental hygienists.Annual Salary Range:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
Renewing Your License
The dental hygienist licenses should be renewed every 24 months.
On years with odd numbers, licenses have an expiration date on March 1st.
In order to be able to renew your certification, you have to take 30 extra class hours covering industry updates.
You can choose to attend an accredited program to fulfill the extra hours.
Other options include study clubs, district meetings, and home study.
Read the full guide: How to Become a Dental Hygienist