Maybe you want to start a career as a physical therapy assistant in North Dakota.
If that’s the case, you should read on in order to learn more about the requirements in this state.
Earning Your License as a Physical Therapist Assistant in North Dakota
In North Dakota, you need a license in order to work as a physical therapy assistant.
You can only do that if you get trained in a program where you will develop your skills.
Most commonly, this program is a Physical Therapist Assistant Associate of Applied Science (AAS) or Associate of Science (AS) degree.
This program needs to accredited by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE) and by the North Dakota Board of Physical Therapy.
The degree requires a number of theory classes, but also practice.
The practice hours are usually finished in a clinic, for which you need to take a background check.
You will also need to take a CPR course, and fill in the Health Screening & Immunization form.
During your practice, you will also be supervised by a certified physical therapy assistant.
The theory hours include topics like:
- Medical Terminology
- Introduction to PTA
- Fundamentals of PTA
- PTA Pathophysiology
- Physical Agents
- Clinical Kinesiology
- Therapeutic Exercise I and II
- Orthopedics for PTA
- Neurology for PTA
- Advanced Techniques
- PTA Ethics and Issues
- Anatomy and Physiology I and II
To be able to apply for a license, you need 14 clinical practice credits.
Getting licensed requires submitting some documents and taking an exam.
This is the National Physical Therapy Exam (NPTE) for PTAs, provided by the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT)
You will have to submit a $400 exam fee, and the following documents:
- $200 application fee
- Activities statement form
- Verification of licensure form (if necessary)
- Certificate of professional education form
- Temporary licensure agreement to supervise form
- Authorization for release of medical records
- Jurisprudence examination
- Official transcripts
- Original 3×5 photograph
The papers need to be mailed to the North Dakota Board of Physical Therapy in Grafton.
The next step in acquiring a license is passing the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) for PTAs.
After you pass it, you can also take the jurisprudence exam.
The exam features the following subjects:
- Physical Therapy Data Collection
- Diseases and Conditions
- Equipment and Devices
- Therapeutic Modalities
- Safety and Protection
- Metabolic & Endocrine Systems
- Gastrointestinal System
- Genitourinary System
- Musculoskeletal System
- Neuromuscular & Nervous Systems
The exam includes 200 questions and requires a 600 passing score.
You prepare for the exam by studying the candidate handbook provided by the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT).
In order to take the written exam, you also have to pay a $70 Prometric fee.
The jurisprudence test covers the following subjects:
- Regulations relating to the Practice of Physical Therapy
- Statutes relating to:
- Physical Therapy
- Medical Records
- The Uniform Credentialing Act
- The Uniform Credentialing Act for Mandatory Reporting
Physical Therapist Assistant Employment and Salary Information in North Dakota
North Dakota will see an increase in physical therapy assistant jobs during the 2012-2022 period.
Jobs will grow by 30.4%, which is one of the highest rates in the nation.
Some of the facilities you can work for in North Dakota include:
- Aureus Medical Group – Minot
- Supplemental Health Care – Oakes
- Ardor Healthcare Solutions – Enderlin
- McKenzie County Healthcare Systems – Watford City
- Infinity Rehab – Oakes
- RehabVisions – Dickinson
- The Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society – Bottineau
- Aegis Therapies – Bismarck
Typically, salaries in this state are higher compared to other states.
This is especially true after you get some work experience.Annual Salary Range:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
Physical Therapist Assistant License Renewal Information in North Dakota
In this state, you will need to renew your license in order to keep practicing.
Licenses expire and need to be renewed every January, on the last day of the month.
To be able to renew your license, you also have to pay a $60 fee.
When you renew your license for the first time, you will not need to take extra education hours.
However, the second time, you have to attend 25 hours of class before you can apply for renewal.
These hours can only be completed in facilities approved by the Board, which include:
- American Physical Therapy Association
- State PT associations such as the North Dakota Physical Therapy Association
- Medical institutions
- Educational institutions
- American Heart Association
- Arthritis Foundation
Read the full guide: How to Become a Physical Therapist Assistant