If you want to get into the health field, you can easily become a physical therapy assistant.
In Arkansas, candidates have to train first, and we have compiled a list of info on it.
Read on in order to learn more!
Article Table of Contents
Training for Physical Therapy Assistants in Arkansas
To be able to work as a physical therapist, you need to attend a training program.
The program should be approved by the Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy.
The training program must also have received accreditation from the Commission on Accreditation of Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE).
The best way to get your diploma is to pursue an associate’s degree.
Some of the programs you can join are:
- Associate of Science in Physical Therapist Assistant Studies (AS)
- Associate of Science Degree, Physical Therapy Assistance (AS)
- Associate’s Degree in Physical Therapist Assistant
- Associate of Applied Science Physical Therapist Assistant (AAS)
- Bachelor of Science (BS) in Health Science
These programs last for about 2 years or more.
Some of the topics you will learn about in class include:
- Anatomy and physiology
- Therapeutic Exercise
- Pediatrics and Gerontology
- Professional ethics
- Applied neuroscience
- Behavioral sciences
- Exercise physiology
- Clinical pathology
The program is made of theory but also a lot of practice hours.
During training, you will learn how to interact and communicate with your patients.
Becoming a Physical Therapist Assistant in Arkansas
After you get your degree, you can apply for a certification from the Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy.
In order to get licensed, you will also need to take and pass 2 exams:
- The National Physical Therapy Examination for PTAs
- The Arkansas Jurisprudence Examination
The application should be mailed to the Board and should include:
- Your schooling experience
- Work history information
- Schedule the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) for PTAs
- Passport sized picture
- The $50 application fee
- Copy of your school transcripts
The first exam you will need to take is the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE).
This exam is provided by the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT).
You will need to become a member of the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT).
You will also need to pay a fee of $400.
Candidates have to get acquainted with the Practice Act and the Rules and Regulations in the state.
Then, you can take the Arkansas jurisprudence exam.
Before that, you need to register online and also pay a $10 fee.
In order to take the exam, you also need to pay a $70 testing fee to Prometric.
The exam is open book and includes topics such as:
- Therapeutic Modalities
- Equipment and Devices
- Safety and Protection
- Professional Responsibilities
- PT Data Collection
The topics cover subjects from NPTE Candidate Handbook.
To pass the exam, you need a score of 600 at the minimum.
If you don’t pass the exam, you can retake it once more.
If you fail the exam twice, you will need to go through the application process again.
Physical Therapist Assistant Salary Information
There are many facilities where you can get hired after getting your certification.
Some of these include hospitals, clinics, rehab centers, and other medical offices.
Some of these include:
- Arkansas Children’s Hospital in Little Rock
- Arkansas Methodist Medical Center in Paragould
- Baxter Regional Medical Center in Mountain Home
- Carson Physical Therapy in Bryant
- Clinton Physical Therapy Services in Clinton
- Heartland Rehabilitation and Care Center in Benton
- Malvern Physical Therapy in Malvern
- OrthoSurgeons Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation in Little Rock
- Physical Therapy Center for South Arkansas in El Dorado
- Solutions Physical Therapy in Jonesboro
- Wellspring Physical Therapy in Fayetteville
The salary you will earn depends on your qualifications and experience in the field.Annual Salary Range: Annual Salary by Location:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
|North Little Rock||$51,605|
Regional Salary in Arkansas
|Region||Employed||Avg. Annual Salary||Avg. Hourly Pay||Top 10% Annual Salary||Bottom 10% Annual Salary|
|Fort Smith, AR-OK||130||$59,380||$28.55||$79,000||$33,680|
|Hot Springs, AR||70||$54,340||$26.13||$78,260||$30,660|
|Little Rock-North Little Rock-Conway, AR||330||$63,270||$30.42||$88,180||$31,990|
* Employment conditions in your area may vary.
The Arkansas Department of Workforce Services expects a 26.5% growth in PTA jobs until 2022.
The most well-paid PTAs in this state make about $72,510 per year.
Additional Information for Physical Therapy Assistants in Arkansas
In order to keep your license, you need to renew it once in 2 years.
You will also have to pay a $70 renewal fee.
To get your license renewed, you need to finish:
- One Continuing Education Unit (CEU)
- 10 CEU contact hours and the Arkansas jurisprudence exam.
This exam requires a fee of $10.