If you plan on being a physical therapy assistant in North Carolina, read on.
You will get to find out more info about getting licensed and where you can train.
Earning Your License as a Physical Therapist Assistant
In this state, you need to train first, after which you can apply for a physical therapy assistant license.
To do this, you can opt for a Physical Therapist Assistant Associate of Applied Science (AAS) or Associate of Science (AS) degree.
This program needs to accredited by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE) and by the North Carolina Board of Physical Therapy Examiners.
Such a degree lasts for 2 years, and you will join theory hours but also clinical practice.
An associate’s degree lasts for a couple a year, during which you will take theory and practice classes.
The practice you attend needs to be completed in a health center.
It also requires supervision from a licensed physical therapy assistant.
The subjects you will learn about in class include:
- Functional Anatomy for the Physical Therapist Assistant
- Basic Skills in Patient Care
- Medical Terminology
- Human Anatomy & Physiology
- Therapeutic Exercise
- Therapeutic Modalities
- Orthopedic Issues
- Pediatric and Neurological Disorders
- Lifespan Physiology
Before you get licensed, you need to pass a written exam.
This is the National Physical Therapy Exam (NPTE) for PTAs, provided by the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT)
The exam also requires a $400 fee.
The required documents are:
- $150 application fee
- Activities statement form
- Verification of licensure form (if necessary)
- Certificate of professional education form
- Temporary licensure agreement to supervise form
- Authorization for release of medical records
- Jurisprudence examination
- The application fee
- Official transcripts
- Original 3×5 photograph
The papers have to be mailed to the NC Board of PT Examiners in Durham.
How to pass the physical therapy assistant licensing exam in North Carolina
First, you have to take the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) for PTAs.
If you pass it, you also need to take the jurisprudence exam.
The exam includes the following topics:
- Physical Therapy Data Collection
- Diseases and Conditions
- Equipment and Devices
- Therapeutic Modalities
- Safety and Protection
- Metabolic & Endocrine Systems
- Gastrointestinal System
- Genitourinary System
- Musculoskeletal System
- Neuromuscular & Nervous Systems
The exam includes 200 questions and requires a 600 passing score.
You prepare for the exam by studying the candidate handbook provided by the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT).
The Jurisprudence examination requires an 80% score to pass.
The jurisprudence exam covers the following topics:
- Regulations relating to the Practice of Physical Therapy
- Statutes relating to:
- Physical Therapy
- Medical Records
- The Uniform Credentialing Act
- The Uniform Credentialing Act for Mandatory Reporting
You will also have to pay a $50 fee to take this test.
Physical Therapist Assistant Employment and Salary Information
After you get licensed, you can work in a medical center, clinic, or hospital.
You can also choose to work independently if you prefer it to employment.
Some of these include the below facilities:
- Physio Physical Therapy and Wellness – Asheville
- Novant Health – Salisbury
- Southeastern Fitness and Rehab – Asheville
- Learning Services Inc. – Raleigh
- Therapy Management Corporation- Asheville
- Carolinas Healthcare System – Concord
- Aegis Therapies – Asheville
- Signature HealthCARE LLC – Kinston
- PruittHealth – High Point
- Mission Hospitals – Asheville
If you are wondering how much you will earn, this depends on where you live and the years of experience you have.
If you are just starting, you will make less compared to more experienced physical therapy assistants.Annual Salary Range:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
Physical Therapist Assistant License Renewal Information
In this state, you have to take an additional 20 hours of education before you can renew your license.
Physical therapy assistant licenses are renewed on the last day of January of each year.
The extra education hours have to be completed in a facility accredited by the Board.
In North Carolina, these are:
- American Physical Therapy Association (APTA)
- North Carolina Physical Therapy Association
- Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT)
- International Association for Continuing Education and Training (IACET)
- North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
- North Carolina Division of Public Health
- North Carolina Area Health Education Centers
Read the full guide: How to Become a Physical Therapist Assistant