In New Hampshire, there is a strong demand for physical therapist assistants.
This guide will explain the process someone has to follow in New Hampshire to become a physical therapist assistant.
Article Table of Contents
Earning Your License as a Physical Therapist Assistant
The first thing to know is that physical therapist assistants need a license.
This license is issued by the New Hampshire Physical Therapy Governing Board.
The first step to getting licensed is earning a degree in the field.
There are several degrees you can choose from, however, these are the most popular ones:
- Associate of Applied Science in Physical Therapist Assistant (AAS)
- Associate of Science in Physical Therapist Assistant (AS)
A Bachelor of Science in Physical Therapist Assistant is another popular choice for future professionals in this field.
The school offering programs for these degrees need accreditation from CAPTE and approval from the Board.
To be accepted in these programs, you may have to meet a series of requirements, such as:
- Having immunizations done
- Passing a drug screening test
- Passing a Criminal/Sexual Offender Records Information check
- Having CPR certification
- Having liability insurance
You’re expected to attend formal education in a classroom as well as completing an internship of at least 18 weeks.
You’ll be studying topics such as:
- Physical Therapy Procedures I, II, and III
- Therapeutic Exercise
- Introduction to Personal Training and Fitness
- Special Topics in Physical Therapy
The next step towards a physical therapist assistant license in New Hampshire, after graduation, is to pass the jurisprudence exam.
This test is administered by the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) and covers:
- Physical Therapy Practice Act (Phy 100 through 500)
- APTA Code of Ethics for the Physical Therapist
You’ll register on the Federation’s website and pay the $48 fee.
You have 48 hours after registration to take the exam which has 50 questions and it lasts for 1 hour and a half.
To pass you need to score at least 80%.
The results need to be sent directly to the Board.
If you fail, you can re-attempt to take it as many times as needed, however, you’ll also have to repay the fee.
The next and final step is to score at least 600 on the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE).
You’ll first need to send in a notarized application form that you first completed, and attach these documents:
- A 2×2 passport recent photo
- Several fees:
- $400 – paid to the Federation for the exam
- $60 application processing fee
- $110 initial license fee
- A resume showing your experience as a PTA as described in Section 304.04i of the Administrative PT Code
- Explanations if you answered “Yes” to the criminal background history
- Official school transcripts
You should be notified by the Board:
- In 60 days if you need to provide more papers
- In 120 days if you’re accepted
You have a total of 54 weeks to complete the application process.
Once you’re accepted, you need to register for the exam, with a Prometric testing center, and pay any additional fees.
The exam has 200 questions that cover:
- Safety & Protection; Professional Responsibilities; Research
- Physical Therapy Data Collection
- Equipment & Devices; Therapeutic Modalities
- Diseases or Conditions that Impact Effective Treatment
Physical Therapist Assistant Employment and Salary Information
There are many facilities in New Hampshire seeking physical therapist assistants.
In 2015, the following companies were among the best employers in this state:
- Aureus Medical Group – Franklin
- CPTE Health Group, Inc. – Nashua
- Genesis Rehabilitation Services – Salem, Ossipee, Wolfeboro
- Littleton Regional Healthcare – Littleton
- Genesis Healthcare – Peterborough
- Caretenders Home Health – Manchester
- New London Hospital – New London
- RehabCare Group – Salem
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
Regional Salary in New Hampshire
|Region||Employed||Avg. Annual Salary||Avg. Hourly Pay||Top 10% Annual Salary||Bottom 10% Annual Salary|
* Employment conditions in your area may vary.
Physical Therapist Assistant License Renewal Information
On December 31 of every even-numbered year, the license of physical therapist assistants expires.
The Board will notify everyone who worked at least 100 hours per year as a physical therapist assistant in the previous 2 years.
The notice will include the renewal application form.
You’ll have to:
- Fill the application out
- Include the renewal fee – $110
- Complete 24 hours of professional education in each renewal cycle
- Pass the jurisprudence exam again if the year ends in a 0
Continuing education activities can be:
- Academic instruction
- Non-academic seminars, course, workshops, and conferences
- Facility-based PT in-service training
- Formal mentored independent study
- Direct supervision of PT or PTA students during their clinical education
- Professional presentations
- Participation in a PT research project
- Completing distance learning courses
- Teaching PT
These organizations offer classes and activities that are accepted by the Board:
- New Hampshire Physical Therapy Association
- American Physical Therapy Association
Activities completed between November 1 and December 31 have a separate section.
Make sure to keep accurate records of the continued education as you can be audited at any time.