If a career as a physical therapist assistant sounds interesting, this is the guide for you!
We put together this article with the steps you need to take to become a physical therapist assistant in Nevada, so read on!
Earning Your License as a Physical Therapist Assistant
In Nevada, a physical therapist assistant needs a license from the Nevada Physical Therapy Examiners’ Board.
The license is issued to those who first earn a degree from a school offering a CAPTE-accredited program in this field.
The Board must also approve the program you enroll in.
Some of the most popular degrees for physical therapist assistants are:
- Associate of Science in Physical Therapist Assistant (AS)
- Associate of Applied Science in Physical Therapist Assistant (AAS)
While the associate’s degree is the most common, a bachelor’s degree offers more career options.
The schools may have different enrolling requirements and the structure of the coursework may be slightly different as well.
Among the enrolling requirements, these are the most common:
- Having up-to-date immunizations
- Holding CPR certification
- Having health insurance
- Passing a drug screening test
- Passing an official background check
- Undergoing a physical examination
The curriculum should focus on topics such as:
- Musculoskeletal Anatomy Review
- Principles of Kinesiology
- Fundamental Principles for the Physical Therapist Assistant
- Observation & Measurement Principles for the Physical Therapist Assistant
- Observation & Measurement Procedures
- Psychological-Social Considerations in Patient Care
- Orthotic and Prosthetic Considerations in Patient Care
In Nevada, future physical therapist assistants are also required to take 4 credits specific to the US and Nevada Constitutions.
Like in all other states, you’re also supposed to complete an internship of at least 6 credits.
Once you graduate you can apply for the national exam which will award you the license if you pass.
Your application process will include the following:
- Your fingerprints for a background check
- This involves mailing the Board, paying the $38.25 fee for the fingerprints, and the processing fee charged by the facility
- The results will return in about 2 to 4 weeks and be valid for only 6 months
- Filling out the application form
- Providing 2 reference letters from physical therapists who supervised you
- Providing another personal reference who can attest to your moral character
- None of the letters can be from a professor, relative, classmate, or educator
- A passport photo from the previous 6 months
- Official school transcripts
- The jurisprudence exam – the questionnaire is included in the application form
- It covers the entire Nevada Practice Act
- You must answer 15 questions correctly to pass
- The $225 fee to the Board
Make sure to register for the exam before sending the application.
You need to register with the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) who offers the exam and with Prometric who protectorates it.
The Federation charges $400 for the test and Prometric charges another $70 for it.
There are 200 questions in the exam and the topics cover:
- Interventions (30.7%)
- Safety & Protection; Professional Responsibilities; Research (6%)
- Equipment & Devices; Therapeutic Modalities (14.7%)
- Physical Therapy Data Collection (20.7%)
- Diseases/Conditions that Impact Effective Treatment (28%)
To pass, you need to score at least 600.
Many of those who take the exam, use the candidate’s handbook and the online practice test offered by the Federation, to help them pass.
Candidates have the possibility of getting a temporary license if:
- They meet the requirements
- They work in an underserved area of the state
Physical Therapist Assistant Employment and Salary Information
In Nevada, some of the best employers in 2015 were:
- Centra Healthcare Solutions – Reno
- Rose Dominican – Siena – Henderson
- Genesis Rehabilitation Services – Las Vegas
- Reliant Rehabilitation – Las Vegas
- Complex Care Hospital at Tenaya – Las Vegas
- Select Physical Therapy – Las Vegas
- HCR ManorCare – Reno
- Sunrise Hospital and Medical Center – Las Vegas
- MountainView Hospital – Las Vegas
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
|North Las Vegas||$57,064|
Physical Therapist Assistant License Renewal Information
Every year on July 31, the physical therapist assistants licenses expire.
For renewal you’ll need 15 hours of continuing education and 7 of them must be in clinical courses.
All the classes need to be approved.
If less than 12 months passed since you got your license, you don’t need to continue your education for the first renewal of the license.
Read the full guide: How to Become a Physical Therapist Assistant