When you have an attention to detail and love to transform spaces, becoming an interior designer can be an exciting career.
There are various state requirements to become an interior designer in Arkansas.
By learning where you can go to school and what kind of salary to expect, you can decide if this is the right career path for you.
Article Table of Contents
- 1 State Requirements for Interior Designers
- 2 5 Interior Design Schools in Arkansas
- 3 Salary
- 4 Frequently Asked Questions
State Requirements for Interior Designers
There are no specific requirements to become an interior designer in the state of Arkansas.
That being said, most employers look to hire “registered” interior designers.
This means that you will need to work with the Arkansas State Board of Architects, Landscape Architects, and Interior Designers.
In order to meet the requirements, you must hold a degree in interior design from a degree program that is accredited by CIDA (Council for Interior Design Accreditation).
Otherwise, you will need the degree in a degree program along with proof that it is equivalent to the CIDA program.
You will also need to show that you are of “good moral character,” which can be shown through verification from employers and other references.
Further, you will need to pass the NCIDQ exam.
This is a 120-question exam that is taken in accordance with the latest Council for Interior Design Qualification standards.
A significant number of test prep courses are available to improve your odds of passing the exam.
Finally, you will need to submit an affidavit that attests that you have read and understood the rules and regulations of the Registered Interior Designers Title Registration Act.
There are a few ways that you can show the board that you have the necessary criteria.
You can either have a diploma from a four-year interior design program and at least 2 years of experience or have a degree from a five-year interior design program and at least 1 year of experience.
You can also show that you are a licensed architect and have been board-certified.
Once you have submitted everything and paid the $250 application fee, you will receive registration in the mail.
In the event that the board needs additional information, you will need to submit that prior to receiving your registration.
After you have received everything, you have the ability to identify yourself as a “registered” interior designer.
5 Interior Design Schools in Arkansas
A variety of interior design schools are available throughout Arkansas and the surrounding area.
In order to become a registered interior designer, a minimum of an associate degree is required, though a bachelor’s degree is more desirable.
University of Arkansas
Located in Fayetteville, there is a four-year interior design program available from the Fay Jones School of Architecture.
A wide array of programs are available, allowing you to minor in other aspects that can help you to be successful, including a History of Architecture and Design.
The cost of tuition averages $16,000 per year.
Harding University, in Searcy, is a private university with a wide array of undergraduate programs, including one for Interior Architecture & Design
Over the course of the four-year program, you will develop a large student portfolio and complete a senior thesis project.
University of Central Arkansas
The University of Central Arkansas in Conway features an interior design program from the UCA Art and Design Department.
You can choose to earn a Bachelor of Science or a Bachelor of Arts.
The school also offers study abroad programs.
An undergraduate degree will cost approximately $15,000 per year.
Arkansas State University-Mountain Home
ASU at Mountain Home offers affordable in-state tuition of only $2900 per semester.
There’s a four-year degree available in Interior Design.
University of Memphis
Located just across the border in Tennessee, the University of Memphis is a public university with annual tuition of approximately $13,000.
An interior architecture program is available within their Department of Architecture.
Interior Design Schools in Arkansas – Summary Table
|University of Arkansas||1 University of Arkansas Fayetteville, AR 72701|
|Harding University||915 E. Market Ave. Searcy, AR 72149-5615|
|University of Central Arkansas||01 Donaghey Ave., Conway, Arkansas 72035|
|Arkansas State University - Mountain Home||1600 South College St. Mountain Home, AR 72653|
|The University of Memphis||3720 Alumni Ave, Memphis, TN 38152|
Interior designers have the ability to earn a significant amount of money.
While it is possible to work independently, many people choose to work for homebuilders and interior design firms.
In the U.S., the median salary is $57,060.
In the state of Arkansas, the median salary is $44,978.
Industries that offer the highest concentration of employment opportunities include specialized design services, furniture stores, architectural firms, and residential building construction.
As you explore job opportunities in Arkansas, cities that are highly populated are more likely to pay higher salaries, such as Little Rock, Fayetteville, and Fort Smith.Annual Salary Range:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
|North Little Rock||$45,132|
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Arkansas require licensure for interior designers?
There are no requirements for certification or licensure for interior designers in Arkansas.
However, the state does provide the option so that you can register with the Arkansas State Board of Architects, Land Architects, and Interior Designers (ASBALAID).
Such designation allows you to identify yourself as a “registered interior designer.”
What is the cost of the National Council for Interior Design Qualification exam?
Before you register for national certification, you will need to pass the National Council for Interior Design Qualification (NCIDQ) exam, which will cost $350 to sit for.
Are there any renewal requirements for interior designers in Arkansas?
The only renewal requirements are for if you choose to be registered by the National Council for Interior Design Qualification, which requires you to take six continuing education credits and pay a renewal fee of $100, which is done annually.
Read the full guide: How to Become a Certified Interior Designer