Those who want to get hired as an ultrasound tech in Rhode Island don’t need a license.
But, having a license will look more trustworthy in the eyes of your employer.
So, let’s see what are the requirements to become an ultrasound tech in this state.
Article Table of Contents
Training Requirements in Rhode Island
Licenses are provided by The American Registry for Diagnostic Medical Sonography (ARDMS), following a licensing exam.
Before you can be eligible for the exam, you need to enroll in a training program.
The programs are provided by community colleges or trade schools in the state.
|Community College of Rhode Island||400 East Ave, Warwick, Rhode Island 02886|
|Lincoln Technical Institute||622 George Washington Hwy, Lincoln, RI 02865|
|New England Institute of Technology||2480 Post Rd, Warwick, RI 02886|
|Rhode Island Hospital||335R Prairie Avenue Suite 2A Providence, RI 02905|
If you are already hired in a medical facility, you can attend a certification program offered by a hospital.
Such a course usually takes a year to finish.
Another option is to pursue a bachelor’s or associate’s degree, which generally takes 2 to 4 years.
If you are looking for a specialization or degree, you should look for a program that is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health.
After you complete the program, you will also need to take an exam that showcases your skills.
Currently, Rhode Island offers 2 centers where you can take the exam.
Some of the classes you will be taking during training are:
- medical terminology
- general diagnostic principles
Besides theory classes, you will also need a number of practice hours.
These will teach you how to operate the ultrasound machines and get hands-on experience in the field.
Certifications and Specializations in Rhode Island
You can choose a specialization that will offer better chances of a higher salary.
For example, The American Registry for Diagnostic Medical Sonography provides licenses for the following specializations:
- Abdominal sonographer
- Neuro sonographer
- Breast sonographer
- Musculoskeletal sonographer
- Gynecology and obstetric sonographer
You can also get a license from The American Registry of Radiologic Technologists.
The specializations they offer include vascular ultrasound.
If you completed a program that s not accredited, the requirements are a little different.
You will need:
- 60 semester hours of education
- A mandatory internship
- passing clinicals
The ultrasound certification needs to be renewed every 24 months.
Before you are allowed to renew it, you need to take 24 extra education credits covering the updates in the laws and regulations.
Job Opportunities in Rhode Island
In 2015, the Bureau of Labor Statistics reported that ultrasound techs in Rhode Island are in the top 5 when it comes to salaries.Annual Salary Range: Annual Salary by Location:
|Location||Avg. Annual Salary|
Regional Salary in Rhode Island
|Region||Employed||Avg. Annual Salary||Avg. Hourly Pay||Top 10% Annual Salary||Bottom 10% Annual Salary|
* Employment conditions in your area may vary.
This state is reported to experience a job increase of 15% until 2024.
After you get your certification, you can get hired in any medical facility in your area.
This includes doctor’s offices, hospitals, and clinics.
So, the first step you need to take is to enroll in a program and complete your education.