|$ License: $50-$200||$ $ CDL Training: $1,000-$7,000|
According to the federal and state regulations, the truck drivers have to get a commercial driving license, based on several classifications determined by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, depending on the truck cargo and its weight.
For example, CDL can certify a truck driver to operate a 26,001 pounds vehicle or a light truck which transports hazardous materials.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the truck drivers can be interstate or long-haul drivers, delivery and pick-up drivers, specialized drivers and hazardous material drivers, as well as sales responsibilities drivers.
The training program CDL costs $1,000-$7,000 and can last for 4-6 weeks.
Prime Inc. in Springfield, MO, for example, provides a commercial truck driver training program for $3,500 that lasts 4 weeks.
At first, drivers train on-site for four days, and then they drive on the road for three or four weeks with an instructor and are usually tested for a license upon their return.
Prime Inc. is willing to cover the training of the driver if they are willing to work in the company for 12 months.
Progressive Truck Driving School in Chicago, IL offers training with 240 hours and 6 weeks for $4,800, which includes eligibility for three endorsements: tankers and hazardous materials, doubles and triples.
The truck drivers temporary permit costs $10-$30 and varies by state – for instance, the 6-month Ohio’s temporary license costs $27.
The price of the driving license costs $50-$200 and varies by state.
For instance, Washington’s CDL test on skills and knowledge is priced at $110; while Maryland’s license costs $50.
The applicants need to pass a driving test and written exam in their state of residence.
The Transportation Security Administration issues Hazardous Materials Endorsement (HME) for the price of $86.50.
What Is Included
A training program CDL has to cover training courses that teach a driver how to maneuver large vehicles on highways and also through crowded streets.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, drivers have to learn federal laws and regulations governing interstate truck driving, and hazardous materials regulations if they are applying for the special endorsement.
Detailed standards for the programs that are accredited are given by the Professional Truck Driving Institute.
Certain drivers pay to rent a truck to take the CDL test, in case it is not included in the truck driver training course.
CDL College in Aurora, CO, for example, has a fee of $150 to rent a truck for the driving test.
The independent truck drivers insurance costs $1,500-$6,000 per year.
For instance, Rig Quote explains the insurance examples that cover cargo, liability, and damage to the equipment.
The membership fee in the American Trucking Association is an annual fee, which is based on revenue of the truck driver.
The Illinois Trucking Association, for example, charges its members $300-$2,200 annually based on the revenue, and the national American Trucking Association charges private carriers $500-$2,136 in annual fees.
The benefits of this membership cover ongoing training opportunities, government representation, and access to the latest industry news.
The Women in Truck Driving provides memberships of $25.
- Certain companies, such as C1 Truck Driver Training in Indianapolis, will pay for an employee’s truck driver training in case they work for the company upon licensure.
- The truck drivers that have an established business can save money on their insurance.
- A discount of up to 5 percent if offered by Progressive, for businesses that are at least three years old.
- The trucking associations, among which the California Trucking Association usually offer insurance or fuel discounts for its members.
Shopping For Truck Driving School
- First: Read our complete guide on how to become a truck driver.
- A list of the accredited truck driving schools by state, as well as industry links are offered by the Professional Truck Driving Institute.
- According to Education Portal, the commercial truck drivers must be 18 to drive within their state and 21 or older for interstate trips.
- The state and federal regulations should be complied by the applicants, which may include a bi-annual medical examination to test for blood pressure and physical capabilities, and adequate hearing and vision.
Article Table of Contents